10 teams and 9 constructors in the Formula E 2016-17


The promoter of the Formula E has announced the list of teams and builders who will take part of the ‘Season Three’ of the category of single-seaters-electric. No big surprises, season 2016-17 will have ten teams thanks to the arrival in the category of Jaguar, which in some way occupies the bacante left by the team of Jarno Trulli. For its part, nine will be the manufacturers that will build a chassis to compete in a category that has more items liberalized. In this aspect, a new constructor has been added to the category.

Beginning with the payroll of teams, the big news is the arrival of Jaguar. The brand is back to competition after long years away from the circuits and does so with a structure of factory which will develop the chassis and the power unit. For his part, the other novelty in the grill of the Formula E is Techeetah, a formation born of the sale of the Team Aguri to China Media Capital. At the moment it is the only team that has not announced whether it is associated to a constructor and therefore the chassis to use. In this aspect, Dragon Racing has to Faraday’s Future as a technology partner.

In this aspect, Penske will be in charge of developing the car Dragon Racing, every time that it seems that the association with Faraday Future is going the other way, with special emphasis on the sections of technology and marketing. Be that as it may, the rest of the manufacturers involved in the championship will keep their stake at the time of developing their own cars, so that ABT (Audi), DS, Jaguar, Mahindra and Renault will build their own power units and chassis in the face of ‘Season Three’ of the category, which in theory will begin after the summer.

Teams and constructors of the Formula E 2016-17

Equipos Constructores Chasis
ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler ABT Schaeffler FE02
Andretti Formula E Andretti Technologies ATEC-02
Faraday Future Dragon Racing Penske 701-EV
DS Virgin Racing DS Virgin DSV-02
Jaguar Racing Jaguar Jaguar R-Type 1
Mahindra Racing Mahindra M3 ELECTRO
NextEV NIO NextEV TCR NextEV TCR Formula 002
Renault e.Dams Renault Z. E. 16
Venturi Formula E Venturi VM200-FE-02