21 rookies on the first day of testing of F2 and GP3, without Spanish


After the end of the test Formula 1 at the Yas Marina circuit, their lower categories, the Formula 2 and GP3, they will pick up the slack during the next three days to put point and end to his year with their own post-season, sharing the track with sessions alternating. In addition, in the case of Formula 2, will serve as a farewell to the GP2/11, which will be in operation in 2018 at the expense of the F2 2018. All the teams that were present last week in the final round of the season in Abu Dhabi will take part in the test, well with their two cars of F2, with their three or four cars in GP3.

In the Formula 2 is concerned, 10 common drivers will repeat the first day, topping the three runner-up Artëm Markelov behind the wheel of one of the team’s cars champion, a Russian Time that is not registered to compete the next year. Other notable participants, will be his former teammate Luca Ghiotto, fourth overall, that share alignment with Louis Delétraz in MP Motorsport; Nicholas Latifi and Alexander Albon, shared campus in DAMS; Norman Born, with the Racing Engineering re-telling, or Nyck de Vries, the new pilot of Prema to 2018, next to your future new companion, the indonesian Sean Gelael.

on the other hand, nine novices test their skills and their options for the next season, being Lando Norris the more prominent. The briton, winner of the F3 european who made his debut in F2 at the end of last week, and that will compete with Carlin next year, repeated in this test with Campos Racing and will share the garage with the mexican Michael Dörrbecker, fourth in the second category of NASCAR’s mexican and with experience in sub-categories of single-seaters in Europe. One of the main rivals of Norris in F3, Maximilian Günther, will test with Racing Engineering, like other pilots who are less fortunate in this category, as Tadasuke Makino (champion of the F3 in japan in 2016, will test with Russian Time) or Guanyu Zhou (champion of the F4 Italian 2015).


The chinese driver will share the campus with the austrian René Binder, who has competed intermittently for the past six years, and that seeks to return to full-time after two years in the Formula V8 3.5, where he has been fourth this year. From GP3, four pilots will be in the tests of Formula 2. After triumphing again, ART awards for the champion George Russell and the runner-up Jack Aitken, while the third of the general, Nirei Fukuzumi, what will you do with Arden as a companion of Ralph Boschung, which intends to follow in the category after breaking links with Fields a few months ago. The other hyped is the indian Arjun Maini, ninth this year, which will test with the Trident next to Santino Ferrucci.

On the first day of testing for GP3 will be less the usual, only eight pilots, to be the main ‘repeaters’ Giuliano Alesi, Alessio Lorandi and Ryan Tveter, all of them with Trident. After returning to F3 this year without too much fortune, Jake Hughes returns to try his fortune in a GP3 with the powerful ART, computer that also align to the colombian Tatiana Calderon, while Niko Kari, who achieved their first victory last weekend, hurries his time as a pilot of Red Bull in MP Motorsport. Also repeated Leonardo Pulcini, to which several incidents have hampered his first year with Fields, and Juan Manuel Correa, who arrived mid-season to Jenzer.


most of the rookies of the test of GP3, six, come from a Formula 3 european that next year it will merge with the category. So, Callum Ilott (4th overall) and Nikita Mazepin (10) tested with ART, Pedro Piquet (14) with the Trident, and David Beckmann (16th) with Jenzer, in addition to Ferdinand Habsburg, the sensation of this season to finish seventh and be one of the great protagonists of the GP of Macau. The pilot austrian will take part in the test with Arden next to his team mate at Carlin, the indian Jehan Daruvala (sixth), and the british , Will Palmer, runner-up in the Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0.

Since that championship, will test also the fifth-placed French Gabriel Aubry, with MP Motorsport. Next to Leonardo Pulcini, pilot’s usual team this year, Fields will give the opportunity to two of his men in the EuroFormula Open, the Finnish Simo Laaksonen (6th) and the brazilian Thiago Vivacqua (7th), and will also assess two pilots Dutch Formula 4, Job van Uitert (Jenzer, runner-up in the Formula 4 Italian) and Leonard Hoogenboom (MP Motorsport, finished 21st in the F4 German). The first two days of the test, the GP3 will open the track at 09:00 and catch the respite between sessions of F2 at 14:30. For its part, the F2 will start your test at 11:45 and will close out the day starting at 18:30, lasting all of these sessions two and a half hours.

List of registered test Formula 2, day 1

Número Piloto Equipo País
1 Sean Gelael PREMA Racing Indonesia
2 Nyck De Vries PREMA Racing the Netherlands
3 Norman Nato Racing Engineering France
4 Maximilian Gunther (R) Racing Engineering Germany
5 Tadasuke Makino (R) RUSSIAN TIME Japan
6 Artem Markelov RUSSIAN TIME Russia
7 Jack Aitken (R) ART Grand Prix Uk
8 George Russell (R) ART Grand Prix Uk
9 Alexander Albon DAMS Thailand
10 Nicholas Latifi DAMS Canada
11 Lando Norris (R) Campos Racing Uk
12 Michael Dorrbecker (R) Campos Racing Mexico
14 Luca Ghiotto MP Motorsport Italy
15 Louis Delétraz MP Motorsport Switzerland
16 Arjun Maini (R) Trident India
17 Santino Ferrucci Trident United States
18 Guanyu Zhou (R) Rapax China
19 René Binder Rapax Austria
20 Nirei Fukuzumi (R) Arden International Japan
21 Ralph Boschung Arden International Switzerland

List of registered test of GP3, day 1

Número Piloto Equipo País
1 Jake Hughes ART Grand Prix Uk
2 Tatiana Calderon ART Grand Prix Colombia
3 Callum Ilott (R) ART Grand Prix Uk
4 Nikita Mazepin (R) ART Grand Prix Russia
5 Jehan Daruvala (R) Arden International India
6 Will Palmer (R) Arden International Uk
7 Ferdinand Habsburg (R) Arden International Austria
9 Pedro Piquet (R) Trident Brazil
10 Giuliano Alesi Trident France
11 Ryan Tveter Trident united States
12 Alessio Lorandi Trident Italy
14 Niko Kari MP Motorsport Finland
15 Leonard Hoogenboom (R) MP Motorsport the Netherlands
16 Gabriel Aubry (R) MP Motorsport France
22 David Beckmann (R) Jenzer Motorsport Germany
23 Juan Manuel Correa Jenzer Motorsport Italy
24 Job van Uitert (R) Jenzer Motorsport the Netherlands
26 Simo Laaksonen (R) Campos Racing Finland
27 Leonardo Pulcini Campos Racing Italy
28 Thiago Vivacqua (R) Campos Racing Brasil