Al-Attiyah and Barreda repeat win in the Baja Aragon


Nasser Al-Attiyah and Joan Barreda has won the 34th edition of the Baja Aragon, defending it and with success the triumph that they had both from 2016. The qatari driver has signed for a comeback, the perfect last day to get his third victory in the race, while the spaniard has managed his advantage to score their fourth triumph in the motorcycle category. The podium in the car category has been completed by ‘Orly’ Terranova and Mikko Hirvonen with the Mini JCW Rally, , while the podium in the bikes have closed Joan Pedrero and Michael Metge.

Nasser Al-Attiyah has repeated a win in the Baja Aragon and has done so with the same script that has already led to the victory in 2016. If, then, it was Carlos Sainz who started out with advantage over the qatari, on this occasion it was Mikko Hirvonen and his Mini JCW Rally. However, all of that has given the same as with a day of pristine, Al-Attiyah has won his third victory in the test. The Toyota driver has lapped in the 2:35 minute ‘Orly’ Terranova, while Mikko Hirvonen had to settle for third position. For his part, Nani Roma was fourth.

Leeroy Poulter with another Toyota Hilux has closed the Top 5 of a Low-Aragon, which as usual has left a wide roster of winners. Ruben Grace has taken the victory in his Ford Ranger GPR17 in the CERTT, which somehow keeps it alive to try to reclaim the title. As important as this victory has been the Oscar Sources in the Dakar Challenge, given that the driver of SsangYong Spain will have the opportunity to compete in the next Dakar with its Tivoli, since the organization of the raid assume the expenses of registration. The victory in the Evo Cup, it has been for Cristina Gutierrez and in trucks for Martin Macik.


Joan Barreda came with the work done at the special ‘Barrachina – Caude’ and as such has taken the risk just. Despite this fact, the Honda pilot has got the scratch, in what has been the perfect end to a participation unpolluted in a Low-Aragon seems of your property. However, Joan Barreda has already accumulated four wins on the appointment of aragon and on this occasion has not had a rival, closing the test with an advantage of 6:17 minutes regarding Joan Pedrero. For his part, third party has finished Michael Metge, which itself has used the Honda CRF450 Rally, as opposed to Barreda.

David Adrià gave the initial surprise with his second place in the stretch and in the general, but a penalty three minutes from the podium and made him fall to fourth place. Fifth, for his part was Cristian Spain in an edition of the Baja Aragon, a somewhat curious, as the first five teams ended up with some kind of sanction, including a Joan Barreda, who lost eight minutes for this reason. The first pilot without penalty was Marc’s Alone, that curdled a good debut with Himoinsa to be sixth. For his part, Arnaldo Martin has taken the victory in the quads without much trouble.