Andreas Mikkelsen wins an emotional Rally of Australia


The goodbyes are never easy and the Rally of Australia has
accumulated too many. Ended the season 2016 WRC, ended an era in
the World with a new generation of World Rally Cars knocking on the door and
it was Volkswagen Motorsport. At least, the German manufacturer is going with a good
taste in the mouth after seeing as Andreas Mikkelsen has taken victory in the
Rally of Australia
. Sébastien Ogier and Thierry Neuville completed the podium
a test has left Neuville as runner-up in the WRC. Dani Sordo has
finished fifth after an intense battle with Mads Ostberg.

Few could venture that the last day of the Rally
Australia was going to be so full of emotion, but it was patent from
the first pass ‘Settles Reverse’. Andreas Mikkelsen got the scratch
the SS19 lead to Sébastien Ogier in 0.6 seconds. Behind, Mads
Ostberg managed to overtake Dani Sordo
in a battle that at first
it was by the fifth, but that in the SS20 is turned into a fight for fourth
position after an error of Hayden Paddon that he had to suffer an outflow of
and desllantar a wheel of their Hyundai i20 WRC.

While the fight for the fourth and fifth position
took on another dimension
to be Paddon less than a second of Dull,
the special ‘Bucca16’ also served to somehow kill off the
rally, because shortly after the mishap suffered by Paddon, the champion
Sébastien Ogier made a spinning top
, which allanaba the way to Mikkelsen that
in addition to get the scratch amasaba in a blink of an eye an advantage
22.2 seconds, which ultimately would be final. For his part, Jari-Matti
Latvala no pressure was continuing with his particular pursuit to enter
in the top ten


The loop morning in addition to charged a new victim in his
third special, the entire time that Eric Camilli suffered an off track as
a consequence of the problems of brakes that dragged all day.
The fiasco of the French pilot attached to , the problems of Lorenzo Bertelli in the
rear differential
were the true reflection of what has been the season of
farewell to the current generation of the Ford Fiesta RS WRC, always away from
their rivals. With a certain delay and cumbersome roll-over Camilli, the special is
solved with scratch from Andreas Mikkelsen
to stop seen to sentence the

The penultimate special stage of the rally served to Hayden Paddon
could overtake Dani Sordo
and minimise your error above, in addition to
appetizer for a Power Stage that served as the basis for the great farewell
Volkswagen Has Motorsport. Sébastien Ogier is noted the scratch on the leg
to add the final victory stretch of the Volkswagen Polo R WRC with
the colors the official brand. Thierry Neuville and Dani Sordo shared
for their part, the remaining points of the Power Stage, though no doubt the pilot
more happy was Andreas Mikkelsen getting his third victory in the

With the last victory for Volkswagen Motorsport under the
arm, Andreas Mikkelsen was accompanied on the podium by Sébastien Ogier and
Thierry Neuville
, a result that served the belgian driver of the Hyundai to
was runner-up in the WRC. Hayden Paddon for his part, ended in fourth
position of the rally, while the fifth was Dani Sordo. Behind the pilot
cantabrian, Mads Ostberg ended the test in sixth, while Ott Tanak and
Esapekka Lappi was seventh and eighth respectively. Fruit of the problems of
Lorenzo Bertelli, Jari-Matti Latvala reached the ninth position in the rally
after overtaking the Italian on the final stretch.


The Rally of Australia in addition, he submitted a new success to the
Volkswagen group , the entire time that Esapekka Lappi was proclaimed Champion of the World
of WRC2
after achieving partial victory in the last event of the season.
The Finnish driver, at the wheel of the Skoda Fabia R5 official of the Czech brand,
had no opposition during the entire test and that resulted in that ending
the rally with an advantage of 4 minutes and 35 seconds on Nicolas Fuchs. The
podium of the second category in the world championship in Australia closed the Polish
Hubert Ptaszek with the Peugeot 208 T16 R5.

Although their plan to conquer the title with the least
competition possible to play only tests away from Europe has not
worked and at the end of the championship has fallen out of the side of the Italian Simone
Tempestini for their participation in the Junior WRC, Michel Fabre has noted the
victory in WRC3 in the Rally of Australia
as the finishing touch to a project well
devised and that has even done to the FIA to reformulate the rules of the category
support. All in all, the veteran French rider has been nineteenth in the
general of the rally with their Citroën DS3 R3T Max.

final Standings of the 25th Rally of Australia

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Polo R WRC 2.46:05.7
2nd Sébastien Ogier Volkswagen Polo R WRC +14.9
3rd Thierry Neuville Hyundai i20 WRC +1:12.6
4th Hayden Paddon Hyundai i20 WRC +1:26.7
5th Dani Sordo Hyundai i20 WRC +1:28.3
6th Mads Ostberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC +1:41.5
7th Ott Tanak Ford Fiesta RS WRC +3:04.3
8th Esapekka Lappi Skoda Fabia R5 +7:32.3
9th Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Polo R WRC +7:56.9
10th Lorenzo Bertelli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +8:00.1