Audi maintains its roster of drivers in the DTM 2016


Audi took advantage of the ‘Audi Sport Finale’ held in the Training Center of Munich to to reveal their sports programs in 2016. Although the star of the night was the Audi R18 e-tron quattro and the big announcement was the use of two LMP1 at Le Mans by Audi and Porsche, there was also time to attend to the other great project of the brand. Audi will keep eight Audi RS 5 DTM in the German Championship of passenger Cars in 2016, and will do so with the same payroll of pilots that has been used in 2015, despite not having won the drivers title, teams and constructors.

Audi opts for continuity and repeat the election of its eight pilots for the next season. In this way, the eight Audi drivers in the DTM 2016 will continue to be Mattias Ekstr├Âm, Jamie Green, Edoardo Mortara, Timo Scheider, Mike Rockenfeller, Adrien Tambay, Nico Muller and the Spanish Miguel Molina. The Catalan has achieved its first victory in the DTM at the N├╝rburgring and is one of the sweetest moments of his career. Molina will play their seventh season in the category and the third consecutive in the team Audi Sport Team Abt Sporstline.

The structure of Audi Sport directed by Dieter Gass make the least possible changes and maintained in general lines the structure of 2015, except for a slight variation of equipment for two of the younger riders of the formation of Ingolstadt. In this way, Nico Muller and Adrien Tambay will suffer an exchange of teams and while the swiss will end up at Audi Sport Team Abt, the French will move on to compete with Team Rosberg. For its part, the Audi RS 5 DTM will undergo slight modifications, keeping the base of the model that has been harvested 10 wins in the 18 races held in 2015.