Benoît Tréluyer and Marcel Fässler with the Audi in the Blancpain


The team Belgian Audi Club Team WRT has confirmed its
alignment of pilots
ahead of the season 2017 of the Blancpain GT Series.
The formation of reference of Audi in the contest will count with a good number of
official riders of the brand, among which undoubtedly stands out the presence of the
former pilots of LMP1, Benoît Tréluyer and Marcel Fässler. The structure will compete
with five Audi R8 LMS GT3 in the Sprint Cup and with four units of the GT3 of
Ingolstadt in the Endurance Cup, where also compete from time to time Jamie
, Audi driver in the DTM.

In the Audi R8 LMS GT3 #1 will compete Enzo Ide and Christopher Mies with the aim of defending the title that got the first one in the Sprint Cup in 2016. In fact, this car only played the short-term test of the Blancpain GT Series 2017. The Audi R8 LMS GT3 #3 will be piloted by Pieter Schothorst and Jake Dennis in the quotations in the sprint, while that in the resistance tests this unit will be designed to Niki Mayr-Melnhof, Josh Caygill and Jonathan Venter. For his part, the Audi R8 LMS GT3 #5 is for Marcel Fässler and Dries Vanthoor, that tests the Endurance Cup will be accompanied by Will Stevens.

The own Will Stevens will be part of the crew of the Audi R8 LMS GT3 #6 in the Sprint Cup, where it will partner with Marcus Winkelhock. However, this drive in the endurance races will be dedicated to Nathanaël Berthon, Stephane Richelmi and Benoît Tréluyer in an explosive mix in which you combine the skills of the ex-pilot GP2, the current champion of the WEC in the class LMP2, and of a former pilot of LMP1 of Audi. Finally, the Audi R8 LMS GT3 #17 will be piloted by Stuard Leonard and Robin Frijns in the short-term test. Both will join Jake Dennis in the resistance tests, while Jamie Green will replace Frijns in the three dates coincide with the Formula E.

Drivers of the Audi Team WRT in the Blancpain GT Series 2017

Car Sprint Cup Endurance Cup
Audi R8 LMS GT3 #1 Enzo Ide – Christopher Mies
Audi R8 LMS GT3 #3 Pieter Schothorst – Jake Dennis Niki Mayr-Melnhof – Josh Caygill – Jonathan Venter
Audi R8 LMS GT3 #5 Marcel Fässler – Dries Vanthoor Will Stevens – Marcel Fässler – Dries Vanthoor
Audi R8 LMS GT3 #6 Will Stevens – Markus Winkelhock Nathanaël Berthon – Stephane Richelmi – Benoît Tréluyer
Audi R8 LMS GT3 #17 Stuart Leonard – Robin Frijns Stuart Leonard – Jake Dennis – Robin Frijns / Jamie Green