Dakar 2016, foreword: Ten Brinke is the first leader


A prologue called to be insubstantial ended in the first moment unpleasant of the Dakar. When the last
drivers of cars were facing the 11 kilometres of the special stage, china
Guo Meiling has been in an accident
, erasing several spectators.
With the prologue cancelled by the organization due to the fatal mishap, Ten Brinke is the first leader of
the test in the category of cars
. While the trucks have not been able to
take the exit, Joan Barreda and Ruben Faria share leadership in bikes and
Ignacio Casale is at the front of the standings in quads.


Few could foresee at the beginning of the prologue and the abrupt end that I was going to have. With 64 pilots taking the output and 59 at the finish in the car category, the test had to be stopped by the accident Guo Meiling. At that time, Ten Brinke already held the leadership after finishing the prologue in a time of 6 minutes and 8 seconds, a record that had enabled him to snatch victory in the first Spanish rider. Carlos Sainz finished second and as a curious fact, reached the goal without the hood of your Peugeot 2008 DKR16.

, Letting himself be seen in his first Dakar, Xevi Pons took third position ahead of the champion Nasser Al-Attiyah. Tied on time with the qatari also ended Marek Dabrowski, while Nani Roma was the third spaniard in the top ten after sneaking into the sixth position of this prologue. No surprises among the favorites, the big names were moved in a narrow margin of 10 seconds with Mikko Hirvonen, Giniel de Villiers, Stéphane Peterhansel and Sebastien Loeb within the first ten classified. Cyril Despres and Orlando Terranova remained to the doors of these position, as Vladimir Vasilyev and Martin Prokop.


In the truck category has not taken the departure of any vehicle, so that the leadership is bacante up to the first stage, which takes place tomorrow between Rosario and Villa Carlos Peace, with a total of 404 kilometres of liaison and 227 kilometres of special in the case of bikes and quads. Cars and trucks will have to travel 258 miles.



Same time, two leaders. Jnao Barreda and Ruben Faria have taken the time in 6 minutes and 27 seconds, so they are the first two co-leaders in the classification of bikes. Despite this curiosity, the prologue has not served to make a big difference and in fact the first thirty sorted have reached the finish line with a margin of 30 seconds in their times. Helder Rodrigues, Michael Metge, Gerard Farrés, Pablo Quintanilla and Jordi Viladoms have entered in the ‘top ten’, while other favorites have been dealt with more discreetly.

In this group there is to get the pilot Spanish par excellence. Laia Sanz has lost 3 minutes and 43 seconds to the back of his KTM, finishing in the post 116 th overall of this stage prologue, with presumed technical problems. Of the 136 riders have taken the start in Buenos Aires, not all have been able to reach the goal in normal conditions and at the first. The first driver to suffer distress is the argentine Juan Agustín Red. The local rider and youngest of the categories of bikes has managed to overcome the technical problems of your Gas Gas and get to the finish, although with a lot of lost time.


Ignacio Casale is the first leader in quads after winning the prologue. The chilean has travelled the 11 kilometres of the stretch in a
time of 7 minutes and 14 seconds, beating by a margin of less than 10
seconds to Marcos Patronelli, Paul Copetti and Alejandro Patronelli.
champion Rafal Sönik has not taken risks
and has finished 14th, which can penalize you in the first stage. No surprises, the 45 quads that have taken the output
have found goal. The Spanish have had a quiet start with Alberto
Prieto (42nd), Covadonga Fernandez (43rd) and Eduardo Marcos (44th).