Dakar 2016, stage 3: Loeb repeats victory, Barreda gets leader


The leaders shine,
the Dakar makes water
. The third stage of the Dakar was shortened in his
start and the condition impractical of the tracks has reduced the special
the trucks to the minimum expression. A torrential storm has surprised
riders roads from the bivouac, which has further complicated the day
today for the ‘motards’. Sébastien Loeb, and Joan Barreda has achieved the stage win and are leaders
in cars and motorbikes. For its part, the south african Brian
Baragwanath has added to his first stage victory on the Dakar in the
category of quad bikes.


there who will stop. Sébastien Loeb has added to his second stage victory consecutive and strengthens its leadership in the car category. Despite opening track, the frenchman has proved intractable, and has completed the stage in 2 hours, 9 minutes and 39 seconds, leading the second double-row of Peugeot. Second at the finish line was Carlos Sainz. The Spanish driver has stopped 1 minute and 23 seconds with his team-mate, a small difference considering that the spaniard was in positions delayed and has had to live with the dust and to overtake other riders.

With fewer problems than yesterday, and being the only real threat of the Peugeot 2008 DKR16, Nasser Al-Attiyah has finished third. The pilot qatar has finished within two seconds of Sainz and has improved in 37 seconds on Giniel de Villiers, fourth place with the Toyota. Good paper once again Mikko Hirvonen. The finn has been the second pilot of X-Raid and for the moment continues to demonstrate its good adaptation to the raids. For his part, Stéphane Peterhansel has yielded 2 minutes and 52 seconds with respect to the leader, which has led him to lose the second position in the overall classification.

  • Query the results of the third stage of the Dakar in the car category.


New blow for the category. The special has been neutralized for the trucks from the CP2, so that the journey to the ‘elephants of the desert’, is reduced to the short mileage between the CP1 and the CP2. The tour has been impracticable in the aftermath of the bikes, quads and cars. With a special round in four days and kilometers of today -almost inconsequential-, Hans Stacey maintains his lead harvested yesterday.



Open track day yesterday and get caught up in the
mud does not have appeased his fortitude. Joan Barreda has won the third stage and is
the new leader
in the motorcycle category. The Spanish rider of Team HRC has
managed to complete the 190 kilometres of today’s stage in a time of 2
hours, 30 minutes and 37 seconds. The rider from castellón has exceeded by 26
seconds to one of the big surprises in these early stages. The argentine
Kevin Benavides is taking advantage of his knowledge of the terrain
to be in
head, surpassing even today to Paulo Gonçalves.

What is certain is that the category of bikes is leaving in these
early stages a fight with a good number of stakeholders. Antoine Meo, Stefan
Svitko and Pablo Quintanilla have had a chance of victory
throughout the
day and have finished in the range of 1 minute and 18 seconds in relation to the
leader. Within the top ten we find the Spanish Gerard Farrés, who has
finished at 2:21 of the head. However, the role of Joan Pedrero and Txomin
Arana has also been remarkable
despite falling outside of the top ten

Between the Spanish riders, Ivan Cervantes has entered
4:21 of the head
, while the feminine Laia Sanz has returned to finish his trail by
second day in a row. More problems is having Jordi Viladoms. The
official driver KTM is having problems to find the rhythm and today
has stopped 6 minutes and 22 seconds, far from the pretensions of the actual computer
the firm’s official austrian. Armand Monleón, Marc Sola and Antonio Gimeno have gotten
complete the stage between the first 50. In general lines has been a good day for our. All have reached goal.

  • Query the results of the third stage of the Dakar in the motorcycle category.



The category of quad bikes has left a few surprises. After his good role in the day yesterday, the south african Brian Baragwanath has been awarded the stage victory in what is their fourth stage in the Dakar. After the abandonment added in 2015 to the first change, this young rider is proving that you have wood of champion. With honey on the lips has left Ignacio Casale. The chilean has run four seconds of the winner and keeps the leadership with a distance of 3 minutes and 56 seconds on the own Baragwanath.

Marcelo Medeiros finished third in the stage, beating Rafal Sönik and Marcos Patronelli. Of time none of the is able to with the pace imposed by Ignacio Casale and have been stopped more than 3 minutes and 30 seconds, calcando almost your time. Jeremiah Gonzalez, Lucas Bonetto and Walter Nosiglia have had a good day, unlike two of the pilots called to be above. Alejandro Patronelli has not been able to pass in the twelfth position, with 6 minutes and 26 seconds lost, just behind Mohammed Abu-Issa, which so far has not been allowed to see the posts noble.

  • Query the results of the third stage of the Dakar in the category of quads.