Dakar 2017, stage 12: A rally 'repeater' and premieres


he Finished the Dakar 2017 and capped their cingo winners. Stéphane Peterhansel, Leandro Torres, Eduard Nikolaev, Sam Sunderland and Sergey Karyakin have signed their names in the history of the Dakar with golden letters. However, the champions of the 39th edition of the rally have a profile very different. However, Stéphane Peterhansel and Eduard Nikolaev already knew what it was to taste the sweetness of winning a ‘Touareg’, while Leandro Torres, Sam Sunderland and Sergey Karyakin are making their debut in this frame of mind. the result is that The Dakar 2017 has certainly been a rally ‘repeaters’ and premieres.

And speaking of ‘repeaters’, without a doubt, look no further than Stéphane Peterhansel. However, the French already sum thirteen ‘Touareg’ in their display cases and continues with the same hunger as the first day. Won six editions of the motorcycle as a Yamaha rider and already has seven wins on four wheels, three with Mitsubishi, two with X-Raid and the last two with Peugeot. Three stage victories and take the limit Sébastien Loeb have been enough to make the fox more fox and old of the Dakar follow expanding his legend. However, something called ‘Mr. Dakar’ and for something is the more rider full.

it has Also been added to this roster of ‘repeaters’ Eduard Nikolaev. The Russian has reached the second victory in the Dakar after the harvested in 2013. In both cases, with a truck Kamaz, and on both occasions, being perhaps the capping of the formation of the Russian. All in all, Nikolaev has completed a rally solid, with a clear progression in their performance and that has allowed next to Evgeny Yakovlev and Vladimir Rybakov to get the victory ahead of his teammate, Dmitry Sotnikov. A exercise perfect management of the times in a category as complex as that of the ‘elephants of the desert’.


Without a doubt, the man who leads the group of new releases is
Leandro Torres
. However, the brazilian has managed to the first
‘Touareg’ to their country
and in addition has done with a UTV, in the category
that made its debut in this edition. In the absence of improve the level of
registration of these UTV and that the competition is greater, of time
Leandro Torres and his co-pilot Lourival Roldan has passed into history
the Dakar to be the first winners of the ‘Touareg’ in this category UTV
intended for light-duty vehicles low cost, and that’s sure to win in
role in the next editions of the rally.

Sam Sunderland
he has also won his first ‘Touareg’
and form part of the group
those who have been released as the winners of the Dakar. However, the
victory of the british, the first for his country in the raid harder
world, comes from the hand of the almighty KTM. The signature of source
austrian sum of 16 consecutive wins in the motorcycle category
the push from brands such as Honda or Yamaha. In this aspect, having
the creditworthiness and experience of KTM make the premiere of Sunderland a bit
less premiere

the last of The pilots that have gotten their
first victory in the Dakar rally has been Sergey Karyakin
. The young
pilot has also achieved a similar achievement to that of Leandro
Towers or Sam Sunderland, while Karyakin is the first Russian pilot
to win the Dakar in a category that is not the truck
. A win
very well deserved as has been the pilot faster and more regular, which
has served to overcome the big favorites of the category and the
push of the local riders.