Dakar 2017, stage 4: Despres wins, Sainz leaves two hours


The fourth stage of the Dakar 2017 has left a real crossover of sensations in the breast of Peugeot. Although Cyril Despres has achieved victory with the Peugeot 3008 DKR, in what marks his first win in the car category since he left the motorcycle category, it is certain that the team has suffered several setbacks. The loss of time accumulated by Stéphane Peterhansel and Sebastien Loeb in the area of navigation, has added to the drama of Carlos Sainz, which has been seen as trapped in the dunes on the straight end of the special. The Dutch Gerard de Rooy has scored the win in the truck with his Iveco.


The fourth stage of the Dakar was targeted as one of the days criticism of the raid and what is true is that it has been so. Cyril Despres has clocked up his first victory in cars after the completion of the special between San Salvador de Jujuy and Tupiza at 4:22:55, a record that has served to beat for 10:51 minutes to Mikko Hirvonen, the only pilot who has managed to deal with the superiority of the Peugeot until now. The finn has been surpassed by two minutes Nani Roma, that has risen to the third position of the podium to face the problems that they have lived out the rest of the Peugeot 3008 DKR.

however, the day did not start too well for Peugeot that looked like the same navigation error lastraba Sébastien Loeb and Stéphane Peterhansel, in addition to the malfunction in the turbo of the nine times champion of the WRC. Following the trail, which somehow marked them both, Yazeed Al-Rajhi and ‘Orly’ Newfoundland also erred in its course, which eventually resulted in the abandonment of Yazeed Al-Rajhi. However, the route still kept a nasty surprise any more that the Carlos Sainz was stuck in a sort of ravine and say goodbye to any option of fighting for the stage after being left 2 hours and 19 minutes and cross the finish line towed by Romain Dumas.

With Stéphane Peterhansel and Sebastien Loeb closing the stage on the fourth and fifth position, the sixth place went to Giniel de Villiers. The south african conceded 24:04 minutes behind Despres, time it served to overcome a few seconds to Polish Jakub Przygonski, in which it has been the best special to date in the pilot of X-Raid. Erik Van Loon for his part, managed to sneak into the eighth square, improving the records of the chilean Boris Grafulic and ‘Orly’ Newfoundland, which finally lost 42:33 minutes with respect to the leader of the stage.

  • Query the results of the fourth stage of the Dakar in the car category.


In competition…

  • Query the results of the fourth stage of the Dakar in the category of UTV.



In competition…

  • Query the results of the fourth stage of the Dakar in the trucks category.