Dakar 2017, stage 8: Loeb wins and regains the lead


The Dakar rally 2017, enters the final straight and according to about the
section decisive
of the test, Peugeot Sport imposes its superiority. In the eighth
especially the 3008 DKR not have had rival, and that has allowed Sébastien Loeb
logged the victory
ahead of frenchman Stéphane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres. With
this result, the nine times champion of the WRC is back in the lead of a
category in which the three fastest riders of the day are listed in the
same order, any time Nani Roma has left 15 minutes. Between the
‘elephants in the desert’ and after a period of reduced 171 kilometers, victory for the
Renault of Martin Van Den Brink


The Peugeot 3008 DKR have been fired from Bolivia and therefore
the high altitude with a great showing of superiority to an open ground.
The result of this and of the excellent pace he has shown during almost all of the
special, with the exception of a small section in the final straight, Sébastien Loeb
has scored triumph after completing the stage in 4:11:02
, a record that has
served to overcome for 3:35 Stéphane Peterhansel. A distance that even
could have been higher, but that has served to Loeb to regain the lead
of the category. To close the triplet from the signing of the lion, Cyril Despres was third in 5:13 minutes.

The triplet of Peugeot Sport without a doubt has eclipsed the
efforts of Mikko Hirvonen and Giniel de Villiers
, despite the fourth and fifth
since I have joined both. In fact, both have studded a great special and have
surpassed at the argentine ‘Orly’ Newfoundland. For his part, Nani Roma has given 14:26
, what has made him fall to the fourth position with nearly 25
minutes lost compared to Loeb. A difference hardly recoverable
due to the superiority of the Peugeot 3008 DKR and the regularity that up
the time have shown the pilots of the French firm.

Khalid Al-Qassimi has turned out to be the one of the pilots
highlights of the day
after finish the particular eighth with the Peugeot 2008
DKR. The pilot Arabic has left 18:1 in goal and has exceeded by a minute
Conrad Rautenbach and two to Yazeed Al-Rajhi, pilot still in the competition
through to appeal and that it has closed the top ten in the day today. Martin
Prokop, Romain Dumas and Nicolas Fuchs have been shot in a very similar rhythm, although
again there are noteworthy the great role of the bolivian Alberto Rodrigo
, always well escorted by his co-pilot Joan Ruby.

  • Query the results of the eighth stage of the Dakar in the car category.



  • Query the results of the eighth stage of the Dakar in the category of UTV.



At one stage reduced to the minimum expression for the category of trucks, with just 171 km timed to the CP1, improvised goal on this occasion, Martin Van Den Brink has scored the victory with his Renault after stopping the clock in 1:55:20. All in all, it has not been an easy victory for the dutchman who has overcome by only 17 seconds to Federico Villagra and 42 seconds to Eduard Nikolaev, who, after a stage missing, has returned to the podium with his Truck. All in all, the joy within the Russian team has taken the hand of the fourth placed Dmitry Sotnikov.

however, Dmitry Sotnikov is the new leader of the truck category after overcoming almost five minutes on Gerard de Rooy, which allows you to amass an advantage of 1:46 minutes in the classification. In this aspect, De Rooy has not been able to move from the ninth position of the stage after giving 7:13 mins with respect to Van den Brink, a result that placed him behind riders such as Peter Verluis or Martin Macik. In regard to the single truck 100% Spanish, Jordi Juvanteny has led the MAN’s team KH-7 Epsilon Team to finish with an hour of lost time with respect to the winner.

  • Query the results of the eighth stage of the Dakar in the trucks category.