Dakar 2018, stage 8: Méo is imposed, Barreda pulls epic


The eighth stage the Dakar, has been satisfied with the second victory of Antoine Méo, although the triumph of the KTM rider has been eclipsed by the grief remained, under different conditions, the strongest rider of the three manufacturers fighting for the ‘Touareg’. The offense of KTM with the own Méo, Toby Price and Matthias Walkner has found an answer in Adrien Van Beveren, still leading with his Yamaha, as well as in Kevin Benavides and Barreda. Epic day of Joan Barreda after giving just 12 minutes despite his knee injury.


The eighth stage of the Dakar you can only understand it from two prisms, the offensive total of KTM and resistance death of Joan Barreda. With a stage full of mud, camel grass and dunes, the pilots of the signing of the austrian have launched the attack needed to get in the race. Antoine Méo and Toby Price has made a hare and the result has not been better for both. Méo has earned the victory after completing the special stage in 5:24:01 hours, while Price has been third, 2:45 minutes of your teammate. Between the two, Ricky Brabec has been cast as a guest a both unexpected with your Honda.

Opening track, in an unfavorable position given the conditions of the land, Joan Barreda, and Adrien Van Beveren had their own career, is more focused on fight against themselves than against the KTM. After getting off of the bike without being able to support the knee in the day yesterday, Joan Barreda has managed to minimize damage, to such an extent that yield only 12 minutes behind the leaders, all with his left knee immobilized, with pain in one wrist and opening track. A result just as positive that the joined by Adrien Van Beveren, every time that the Yamaha rider has managed to retain their lead by 22 seconds to Kevin Benavides.

beyond the six candidates for the ‘Touareg’ and good day Ricky Brabec (2nd) and Stefan Svitko (5th), the other proper name of the eighth special also has the aroma of Spanish. On a memorable day Laia Sanz finished with the ninth best time of the day after stopping the clock at 14:15 minutes of the winner. To the magnificent performance of the Catalan addition to the good work of Armand Monleón and Oriol Mena. Also Gerard Farrés, Daniel Oliveras and Jonathan Barragan have finished within the ‘top 20’. On the opposite side, Txomin Arana has abandoned, just like Xavier De Soultrait, Yamaha rider.