Edo Mortara achieved a historic victory at Norisring


14 long years he had been Audi without a win at Norisring,
drowned by the tyranny of Mercedes. However, this losing streak has reached
to your order with
the triumph of Edoardo Mortara in the first race of the DTM in the
the layout of the town of Nuremberg. The Italian rider was the most ready of the class to the
take advantage of the accident that involved the top three teams and assault
the first position of the race.
Second-has ended Jamie Green to sign
the brace of Audi Sport
, while the podium was completed by Paul Di Resta.
Career negative for the Spanish riders.

Christian Vietoris was asserting its pole at the output to maintain the first position in the tricky first hairpin of the path of the Norisring. On their heels were Mattias Ekström and Robert Wickens, the canadian managed to overcome Jamie Green. The output was not very positive for the Spanish riders, as they both lost positions in the first few metres of the circuit. Miguel Molina fell to twentieth position, while Dani Juncadella was going to close the peloton after having a problem in the first curve. However, the problems are not followed in the succession to some of its rivals.

During the first few turns Mike Rockenfeller suffered a spin after being touched by Nico Müller, which in turn received a Drive Through for this action. However, the bad news didn’t end for Audi, it looked like Mattias Ekström lost the second position to try to overtake Christian Vietoris, a situation that took Robert Wickens to overcome the pilot Swedish. However, this maneuver was something anecdotal as Mattias Ekström was ahead of Christian Vietoris when attempting to overtake the own Robert Wickens, leaving no options to the Mercedes driver and causing the departure of the Safety Car.


After this mishap and with Mattias Ekström is returning to the pits to confirm its abandonment after being the unfortunate protagonist of the first half of the race, Edo Mortara became the new leader of the race at Norisring, followed by Jamie Green and Paul Di Resta. The Italian maintained this position in the restart of the race, though that does not meant that any changes in the positions of head. Bruno Spengler without the option to activate the DRS was overtaken by Marco Wittmann, while Maxime Martin and Adrien Tambay went forward to Christian Vietoris, who was driving with significant damage to his Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM.

despite this, the podium positions remained unchanged during the ten minutes late. Thanks to it, Andoj Mortara got the win at Norisring, historic victory for Audi, as the manufacturer of Ingolstadt could not win in this urban layout since the 2002 season, when Laurent Aiello won at the wheel of the Audi TT-R. The feast for the mark of the hoops the completed the second post of Jamie Green, while Paul Di Resta managed to finish in third position, exploiting very well the incidents of the rivals after starting seventh.

After the three riders on the podium, crossing the finish line in a sigh, Marco Wittmann was placed in fourth position, leading the battalion of riders of BMW, as Bruno Spengler was fifth and Maxime Martin finished sixth. The area of points completed for his part, Adrien Tambay, Maximilian Götz, António Félix Da Costa and Christian Vietoris, who rescued a point after adding the pole and be beaten by Ekström. Far from this noble area remaining for their part, the Spanish riders. In fact, Miguel Molina ended the eighteenth and Dani Juncadella twenty.

Classification first career DTM 2016 at Norisring

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Distance
1 Edoardo Mortara Audi RS 5 DTM 41:09.983
2nd Jamie Green Audi RS 5 DTM +0.531
3rd Paul di Resta Mercedes AMG C 63 DTM +0.903
4th Marco Wittmann BMW M4 DTM +4.135
5th Bruno Spengler BMW M4 DTM +6.731
6th Maxime Martin BMW M4 DTM +9.951
7th Adrien Tambay Audi RS 5 DTM +10.875
8th Maximilian Götz Mercedes AMG C 63 DTM +13.501
9th António Félix Da Costa BMW M4 DTM +15.337
10th Christian Vietoris Mercedes AMG C 63 DTM +15.477