Eleven riders in search of victory in the Junior WRC 2016


Eleven drivers and seven nationalities will meet in a new season of Junior WRC. The category of promotion organized by the FIA and managed by Citroën Racing for the third consecutive year, promises a year full of emotions. However, the category intended for learning and projection of the younger riders in the World Rally account with a payroll of pilots very interesting who seek to follow the steps in your day completed riders like Sébastien Loeb (2001), Dani Sordo (2005), Sébatien Ogier (2008) or, more recently, other drivers such as Craig Breen, Elfyn Evans and Stéphane Lefebvre.

the Result of the management of Citroën Racing for the third consecutive year, enrollees will drive identical drives of the Citroën DS3 R3-Max, a vehicle performance superior to the Ford Fiesta R2T used in the Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy, the other cup brand present in the World. However, the arrival of the R3 to the category has resulted in an increase in the cost of the programs pilots. Does not seem like the best solution for a category in which their participants must not exceed 28 years of age by regulations, and seeking a place within the WRC.

Among the riders who will contest the six rounds the Junior WRC -with an average age of 24.4 years – it is worth noting four names. Ole Christian Veiby is the favorite to win because in 2015 he finished runner-up. However, there are other riders of great level as Martin Koci, Simone Tempestini and Andrea Crugnola. All have in common that they can star in the first victory does not French of the category since the arrival of Citroën Racing, while Terry Folb will look to continue the streak French started by Stéphane Lefebvre (2014) and Quentin Gilbert (2015) at the wheel of a DS3 R3-Max operated by Sébastien Loeb Racing.

entry List of the season 2016 for the JWRC

Piloto País Edad Copiloto Equipo
Ole Christian Veiby Norway 19 Stig Rune Skjaermoen Prinsport
Vincent Dubert France 23 Alexandre Coria AFC Racing
Martin Koci Slovakia 23 Lukas Kostka Styllex Motorsport
Lukasz Pleniazek Poland 25 Przemyslaw Mazur LP Rally Team
Romain Martel France 27 Vanessa Lemoine Trajectoire Racing
Simone Tempestini Italy 21 Matteo Chiarcossi Keane Motorsport
Mohamed Al-Mutawaa UAE 23 Stephen McAuley Abu Dhabi Racing
Frédéric Hauswald France 25 Maxime Vilmot Trajectoire Racing
Thilo Himmel Namibia 25 Nico Swartz Hans Weijs Motorsport
Terry Folb France 25 Franck Le Floch Sébastien Loeb Racing
Andrea Crugnola Italy 27 Michele Ferrara Delta Rally