Elfyn Evans, the first leader of the Rally of Poland in Mikołajki


The tires DMACK can be a differential factor the Rally of Poland, but before that its performance is key, Elfyn Evans has been placed as the first leader of the test. The pilot welsh has been the most rapid in the first edition of the Super Special in Mikolajki Arena after scoring a scratch in 1:44.4. This first section of the eighth appointment of the WRC, played in a ground circuit that has little or nothing to do with the rest of the rally, has hardly left differences and all drivers with World Rally Cars of new generation have moved in 2.8 seconds.

The rains have not given truce to the first day of the Rally of Poland. If the shakedown was held on wet ground and mud due to the rainfall of the night, a great storm prevented the celebration of the ceremony of departure. Beyond the cancellation of this event, pilots have competed in a Mikolajki, Sand with clay, but which has generally endured with a good firm. Because of this, the differences have been minimal and Elfyn Evans has overtaken Ott Tanak for eight tenths of a second. A tenth behind has been placed Sébastien Ogier.


While Elfyn Evans yes that has managed to get a time highlighted respect for Thierry Neuville and Sébastien Ogier, the differences have been even more short among the following drivers. Jari-Matti Latvala finished fourth, in this first Super Special, while Ott Tanak has finished in fifth position. Esapekka Lappi, Stéphane Lefebvre and Hayden Paddon has taken his time, leaving to Andreas Mikkelsen in the ninth position, despite losing only a tenth more than the three riders who preceded him. For his part, Dani Sordo has been tenth after marking the same time that the finn Juho Hänninen.

In the rest of categories, Pontus Tidemand starts the command in WRC2, in which a priori is a symptom of what you can see during the rest of the rally. The pilot Swedish has exceeded 1.2 seconds to Gus Greensmith, a pilot who is always particularly fast in this kind of Super Special or on urban roads. Ole Christian Veiby has been placed third with another of the Skoda Fabia R5. Finally, Terry Folb is the first leader of the JWRC and the category WRC3 after passing for 0.3 seconds to Nil Solans in this first edition of the Super Special in Mikolajki Arena.

Classification after SS1 of the 74th Rally of Poland

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Elfyn Evans Ford Fiesta RS WRC ’17 1:44.4
2nd Thierry Neuville Hyundai i20 WRC Coupe +0.8
3rd Sébastien Ogier Ford Fiesta RS WRC ’17 +0.9
4th Jari-Matti Latvala Toyota Yaris WRC +1.3
5th Ott Tanak Ford Fiesta RS WRC ’17 +1.4
6th Esapekka Lappi Toyota Yaris WRC +1.5
7th Stéphane Lefebvre Citroen C3 WRC +1.5
8th Hayden Paddon Hyundai i20 WRC Coupe +1.5
9th Andreas Mikkelsen Citroen C3 WRC +1.6
10th Dani Sordo Hyundai i20 WRC Coupe +1.8

The first stage Rally of Poland starts this Friday at 7:15 pm with the dispute of the first instalment of the nine that make up the day. The riders will face 111,84 kilometres against the clock.