Eng and Eriksson, new faces of BMW in the DTM 2018


BMW Motorsport has not neglected the DTM during their dinner from the end of the season, in addition to announce the riders who will form part of project GTE, has also unveiled the lineup that will be in the German Championship of passenger Cars in 2018. No big surprises, BMW has made two adjustments in its ‘line up’ by obligation, giving the alternative to Philipp Eng and Joel Eriksson, who will occupy the seats left vacant Maxime Martin and Tom Blomqvist, the first after leaving the umbrella of the brand. The four drivers remaining are Bruno Spengler, Marco Wittmann, Timo Glock and Augusto Farfus.

The departure of Maxime Martin and the pairing of Tom Blomqvist projects GTE and in the Formula And the brand have forced the firm to make these changes, cut from the same pattern. However, both Eng as Eriksson come from the ranks of the BMW Junior Team, despite their age difference. All in all, both showed a great level in the ‘rookie test’ held at Laustizring, which, together with its results has brought them this opportunity. However, Joel Eriksson comes from being runner-up in the European open F3, while Philipp Eng has led the project GT3 brand in the Blancpain.

in the face Of the new season, the brand will be put on track six BMW M4 DTMS in a distribution of three cars per team. Philipp Eng and Joel Eriksson will join the Team RBM to form a team with Bruno Spengler, while the Team RMG will continue unchanged with the trio formed by Marco Wittmann, Timo Glock and Augusto Farfus. The aim of them all is to rein in the superiority which has been shown to Audi throughout the season 2017, a level that has earned the brand of Ingolstadt to get the titles for drivers, teams and manufacturers.