Entry list of the Rally of Wales WRC


With the echoes of the Rally RACC Catalunya still resonating after the coronation for the fourth time of Sébastien Ogier as a champion of the WRC, all eyes are already set on the Rally of Wales GB. The iconic british trial on this occasion, will not close the contest, a fact that however has not prevented to enjoy a remarkable list of entries. Only in the international section, the Rally of Wales will have a total of 66 crews, including 17 World Rally Cars. In addition, the fight in WRC2 will be hectic with more than 20 participants.

The list of World Rally Cars do not vary in excess with what one could see in Salou. Three are as usual the Volkswagen Polo R WRC present with the newly crowned champion Sébastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala and Andreas Mikkelsen. The first two will try to close once and for all, the title of constructors for Volkswagen, while Mikkelsen will try to take a step towards the runner-up position after his fiasco in Catalunya. The front will have as main opponent to a Thierry Neuville who along with Dani Sordo returning to the top of the proposal of Hyundai Motorsport, with Hayden Paddon relegated to the second team of the brand.

One of the big news is the return of Stéphane Lefebvre to the WRC after his strong attack in the Rally of Germany. The French pilot will be flying one of the four Citroën DS3 WRC that will put at stake the team Abu Dhabi Total WRT in your last involvement in this season. Kris Meeke, Craig Breen and Quentin Gilbert will be the other three pilots on the French cars. Mads Ostberg and Eric Camilli will pilot the Ford Fiesta RS WRC of M-Sport, Ott Tanak drive DMACK, while the payroll of World Rally Cars the closed units of Lorenzo Bertelli, Yazeed Al-Rajhi, Valeriy Gorban and Abdulla Al-Qassimi.


Exciting promises to be the battle in the category WRC2. However, in Wales, they meet up to 21 registered, including the Skoda Fabia R5 Teemu Suninen, Jan Kopecký, Esapekka Lappi and Pontus Tidemand, to which must be added the Fabia Nicolas Fuchs, the pilot arab Abdulaziz Al-Kuwari, or of Ole Christian Veiby. Highlights also the presence of the Hyundai i20 R5 official from the hand of Kevin Abbring, as well as the large number of Ford and Skoda cars from local riders, including the two units of M-Sport from Rhys Yates and Gus Greensmith. also, José Antonio ‘Rocket’ Suarez with his Peugeot.

Also competing in the Rally of Wales the drivers registered in the Junior WRC, although the title is already resolved in favor of Simone Tempestini. Maybe that is why it will be much more interesting to see the battle for the category WRC3 that keeps Michel Fabre with the own Tempestini, every time that Fabio Andolfi is not present in Wales. In addition, the large number of Ford Fiesta R5 that will compete out of category WRC2, to see in action some of the Mitsubishi Lancer and Subaru Impreza and the 82 enrolled in the national section of the test promise great emotions.