In Competition: Dakar 2016: Ten Brinke is imposed on Sainz and Pons in a prologue neutralized

Surprises concerning in the category of cars during the contention of the prologue that has opened the Dakar 2016. The triumph has been to a machine head, a Toyota Hilux, but not for one of the drivers most representative of the japanese vehicles: Bernhard Ten Brinke, co-driven by belgian Tom Colsoul. In addition to just after it has located two spaniards, Carlos Sainz and the debutante Xevi Pons in a prologue that had to be neutralized by an attack.

Sainz could well have given a release of luxury in the Dakar to the refurbished Peugeot 2008 DKR for was only three seconds of time Ten Brinke, despite damage to the front the buggy French to cross a ford. But in a special long straights is not as incredible this provision of the two-wheel drive Peugeot. In contrast, see Xevi Pons put his Ford Ranger in third position, four seconds, something breaks, most of the schemes and is already much more than I expected of the vehicle of the South Racing.

In any case, as already happened in the bike for a while before and it was logical in only eleven kilometres of special equality was maximum, leaving 26 cars separated by 29 seconds. Among them obviously were Nasser Al-Attiyah (4th), Nani Roma (6th), Mikko Hirvonen (6th), Giniel de Villiers (8), the other three Peugeot (Peterhansel, Loeb, and Despres tied all with the south-african) or Orlando Terranova (12th).

By emphasizing features more discrete, one minute they were Romain Dumas with his Peugeot 2008 DKR version 2015+ or Sheldon Creed with the second Gordini. Both Reuben Grace (50th, 1:45) as Xavi Foj (53, 2:03) completed this timed section without problems before the neutralization caused by an accident of china Guo Meiling in which ended up erasing the public. This event, whose consequences are not known in an official manner, led to the suspension of the preface to the truck. As soon as we know anything of a strictly official will tell you.

Update – 23:25: ASO confirms four injured in the accident Meiling, happened in the kilometer 6,6 of the special. The first news indicated a greater severity of the accident, fortunately lowered in this official statement.

Classification of the Cars in the Prologue of the Dakar 2016

Pos Pilot Co Car Time Dif 1
1. B. TEN BRINKE T. COLSOUL Toyota Hilux 6:08
2. C. SAINZ L. CRUZ Peugeot 2008 DKR 6:11 +0:03
3. X. PONS R. TORLASCHI Ford Ranger 6:12 +0:04
4. N. AL-ATTIYAH M. BAUMEL MINI All4Racing 6:13 +0:05
4. M. DABROWSKI J. CZCHOR Toyota Hilux 6:13 +0:05
6. N. ROMA A. HARO MINI All4Racing 6:15 +0:07
6. M. HIRVONEN M. PERIN MINI All4Racing 6:15 +0:07
8. G. DE VILLIERS D. VON ZIZTZEWITZ Toyota Hilux 6:17 +0:09
8. S. PETERHANSEL J. P. COTTRET Peugeot 2008 DKR 6:17 +0:09
8. S. LOEB D. ELENA Peugeot 2008 DKR 6:17 +0:09
8. C. DESPRES D. CASTERA Peugeot 2008 DKR 6:17 +0:09

Photo | Red Bull Content Pool