Juan Pablo Montoya wins the Race of Champions in Miami


Juan Pablo Montoya has been raised with the victory in the Race of Champions after overcoming in the end to Tom Kristensen, nine times winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The colombian, who has studded a performance that is almost flawless both in their group and in the final phase, get the first win of a pilot for south american in the individual test the’Race of Champions’ and puts the release of brazilian Cristiano Da Matta, a pilot that won the Nations Cup in 2003 along with Fonsi Nieto and Gilles Panizzi in the last edition of this event which was played in Gran Canaria.

The different duels in the Group To let the first surprise, every time that Helio Castroneves surpassed Sebastian Vettel in the first race with the Radical SR3 RSX. The triumph of the brazilian driver joined the three wins Travis Pastrana allowed both to gain access to the quarters of end, , leaving out of the game to Sebastian Vettel at the first change, every time the four times champion of the World of Formula 1 could only beat Alexander Rossi, who snuck into the Group after overtaking Scott Speed in a round of pre-classification.

all in all, the elimination of Sebastian Vettel, passing it to a second term after the incident of Pascal Wehrlein. The German hit against Felipe Massa at the end of his duel with such bad luck that the Polaris Slingshot SLR out shot and just dump. Luckily, neither Pascal Wehrlein or the guest VIP out injured. Group B was solved with the removal of Wehrlein and Petter Solberg, another of the pilots classics of the Race of Champions. For his part, Juan Pablo Montoya and Felipe Massa managed to step to the quarterfinals with two victories each.


Jenson Button and Kyle Busch did not give options to James Hinchcliffe and Tony Kanaan in Group C, all time the brazilian Kanaan lost the opportunity of forming a three-way tie in the final duel of the group at the moment of impact slightly against the barriers with the ROC Car. For his part and with great superiority, David Coulthard and Tom Kristensen dominated the Group D after overcoming the local drivers Ryan Hunter-Reay and Kurt Busch at the wheel of the Whelen Nascar, the Ariel Atom Cup and the Vühl 05 ROC Edition. The duel between both saldaba with victory for Coulthard.

Juan Pablo Montoya saldaba on the fast track in his duel of the quarterfinals against Travis Pastrana with the Radical SR3 RSX, while Felipe Massa did the same with Helio Castroneves. On the other side of the box, Tom Kristensen won with struggling Jenson Button with the KTM X-Bow, while David Coulthard was imposed a clear way to Kyle Busch. However, none of the duels in the semi-finals had a lot of miga since Juan Pablo Montoya overcame a 2-0 win to Felipe Massa after the touch with the wall of Massa with the Ariel Atom Cup. For his part, Tom Kristensen surpassed also by a 2-0 win to David Coulthard with the Vühl 05.

Juan Pablo Montoya and Tom Kristensen were measured on the large
at the controls of the RX Supercar Lites in the first term and the KTM X-Bow in
second instance, but the two duels fell from the pilot’s side of colombia.
With a perfect performance, Juan Pablo Montoya won the final by 2-0, in great
part by the excellent output he signed the two-time winner of the 500
Miles of Indianapolis with the Supercar Lites, and for their good performance with the KTM
X-Bow, a vehicle that however had not piloted in any of the races
prior to the grand final.