Kris Meeke, the first british to win the Rally of Finland


Kris Meeke has registered its name in the history of the WRC to victory in the Rally of Finland at the wheel of the Citroën DS3 WRC. The irish became the first pilot of british origin in get to conquer the land of the ‘flying finn’. With this win, Meeke adds your name to the list of drivers non-scandinavian to have won this rally and in the names of Carlos Sainz, Didier Auriol, Sebastien Loeb and Sebastien Ogier, in addition of able to boast of the victory more quick of the WRC with an average speed of 126,6 km/h. Podium for Jari-Matti Latvala and Craig Breen, first of the irish.

Kris Meeke starts to have an intimate relationship with
, to such an extent that has marked his career by three times. There are
to go back to 2011 to understand this connection, as the test ‘suomi’ was
little more than the goodbye of the project of Prodrive Mini JCW WRC helpless
by the brand. There Meeke hit the bottom and this circumstance led him to be out
the WRC for a year and a half. Meeke return to the World cup thanks to Citroën in the
own Finland, and now, three years later, and as an official driver of the brand
French, has added its third victory in the WRC

However, the joys have not arrived alone in the bosom of
Citroën Racing
. The French brand is giving a ‘masterclass’ of
as profitable of a transition program and the low by adding a doublet in
one of the rallies most charismatic of the season. Craig Breen has finished
third, with the other Citroën DS3 WRC
, adding his first podium in the World.
Between the two World Rally Car of French origin has been located Jari-Matti Latvala,
that while it has not been able to get his third consecutive victory in the rally of
home, at least he has defended the interests of a Volkswagen erratic in this


In spite of everything, the podium by Craig Breen has not been
precisely a bed of roses
. The irish pilot was faced with the last day
the Rally of Finland with Tanak, Neuville, Paddon, Ostberg and even Mikkelsen
with options to take your position of success. However, Craig Breen
maintained a consistency unusual for a pilot who can count with the fingers
their hands their shares with a World Rally Car. Be that as it may,
also counted with the collaboration of its rivals as Ott Tanak suffered a
spectacular accident in the SS22 and Hayden Paddon a little touch
that made him
lose the pace enough to not be a threat.

All in all, Thierry Neuville has scored the fourth place
in a rally in which no note has added some valuable points for Hyundai,
more or less like Hayden Paddon with his quito since. Behind the two i20
WRC has located a discrete Mads Ostberg with Ford Fiesta RS WRC. Andreas
Mikkelsen has signed for its part, the seventh position
, a result bitter already
that does not serve to cut the gap to Sébastien Ogier has come out of Finland with a
zero. The area of points have completed Esapekka Lappi, Kevin Abbring and Teemu

And is that on this occasion Sebastien Ogier has suffered by opening
track even on Sunday
after his problems in the days previous. This fact
has prevented him from adding any of the extra points from the Power Stage, which have
left in the hands of the pilots that were playing, one way or another their
final position in the rally. In this way, Thierry Neuville and Hayden Paddon have
added 3 and 2 points extra
, while Jari-Matti Latvala has scored the
last point in the game. Craig Breen on this occasion you have not been able to fight for
these points, but Breen comes out of Finland with his first scratch, marked on the SS3.


The category WRC2 has been a duel of local drivers, among which are the two men most promising Finnish schools. With a benefit of 41.7
seconds, Esapekka Lappi has won the victory in WRC2, being the first
that record this season. Second, for its part, has been Teemu Suninen, new
leader of the category and which in addition has been a point in the general as
award complementary. Without anything to do with the pace of the Skoda Fabia R5 and
their own mechanical problems, Elfyn Evans has closed the podium of the second
category fifa world cup

Finally, in the category WRC3 the triumph has been for Ole
Christian Veiby
. The pilot Norwegian has managed to withstand the attacks of Simone
Tempestini and with more troubles than he could imagine, has been charged with a
an advantage of 5.6 seconds on the Italian. The podium has closed also
local rider Juuso Nordgreen. For his part, the victory in the Drive DMACK has scored Max Vatanen, being at home, too, after overcoming so
ostensibly the veteran Portuguese rider Bernardo Sousa and the Polish Jakub
Brzezinski, a pilot who has demonstrated great adaptation to this type of evidence as

final Classification of the SS20 the 66th Rally of Finland

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Kris Meeke Citroën DS3 WRC 2:38:05.8
2nd Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Polo R WRC +29.1
3rd Craig Breen Citroën DS3 WRC +1:41.3
4th Thierry Neuville Hyundai i20 WRC +1:45.9
5th Hayden Paddon Hyundai i20 WRC +1:48.2
6th Mads Ostberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC +2:04.6
7th Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Polo R WRC +2:22.4
8th Esapekka Lappi

Skoda Fabia R5 +4:53.8
9th Kevin Abbring Hyundai i20 WRC +5:22.4
10th Teemu Suninen Skoda Fabia R5 +5:35.5