'Made in DTM': Nine winners in ten races


Edo Mortara, Paul Di Resta, Marco Wittmann, Timo Glock, Miguel Molina, Lucas Auer, Nico Müller, Robert Wickens and Jamie Green. Might as well be the list of participants of the next ‘Race of Champions’, but this is the list of winners in the season 2016 for the DTM. Past the halfway point of the season in Zandvoort, nine different drivers have won in the first ten races of the season, being Edo Mortara has been the only one able to repeat. In the absence of six races, things can happen in a championship in which there are at least five contenders to the title.

For these guarimos are possible and let’s see nine different winners in ten races, three have been the keys. The first of these are the burdens of compensation, much more fair and spread out with two ‘tests’ during the weekend. With this deal after the two classifications has been obtained that the performance is much closer. This is also possible thanks to the new Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM and to the reduction of weight received by the BMW M4 DTM, this being the second factor. Finally, the limited use of the DRS causes this element to have a greater strategic character.

there is more to look at the data to verify the great equality reigning. Audi Sport has achieved five victories to be their drivers, which most times have climbed to the top of the podium, a fact that however is overshadowed by the disparity of results and performance that have lived between one test and another, being perhaps Lausitzring and the Norisring -circuit cursed to the brand until this year – the scenarios are more favourable. Mercedes for its part, has added three victories and BMW only builds up two, sufficient in any case to put to Wittmann at the top of the championship.


in The end, the regularity has become the best asset for
to survive in the DTM
and keep options to fight for the title. The
clearest example of this is the own Marco Wittmann with a victory and a
podium, not to mention have scored in nine of the ten races, is the
in front of the standings with 105 points. On the opposite side can be
place to Timo Glock, Lucas and Miguel Molina, pilots who have earned a
career and have had serious problems to score in the rest of
appointments. That places them at the three below for drivers without wins.

front left Moscow, the Nürburgring, the Hungaroring and the grand final appointment in
and for the first time in several years, it is difficult to predict because not
the winner, but how many pilots will come up with options math
‘campeonar’ in the last weekend of competition, back in the mid
the month of October. And something similar can be said for the championship
brands with BMW, Audi and Mercedes separated by 54 points. BMW Motorsport
is in head, but everything can change in a blink of an eye.
The DTM is that it burns!