Miami is hosting a Race of Champions very 'american'


This weekend to dispute the 28th edition of the Race of
, a test to horse between 2016 -year theoretical of your dispute – and 2017.
All in all, the only reality is that
Miami welcomes for the first time the ‘Race
, test that however made its debut in the americas in 2014
its celebration on the island of Barbados. In spite of this, if there is something that distinguishes this
edition of the Race of Champions is
the high participation of american pilots,
even has forced to having to design up to three different computers under
the flag of the stars and stripes.

Race of Champions

The first day of the Race of Champions will be dedicated to the single mode, in which a total of sixteen pilots will be measured on the track at the controls of eight different cars that you have prepared the organization for this edition. They are proper names such as Sebastian Vettel, Tom Kristensen, David Coulthard, three of the past winners of this event. All in all, the american pilots will be the majority any time the showman Trevis Pastrana, the brothers Busch or Ryan Hunter-Reay will be present. They will join the winner of the duel between Alexander Rossi and Scott Speed.

The competition format is very simple, the entire time that the sixteen pilots are divided in four groups. The first phase will bind to each of the pilots to face their three opponents of group, still the two best teams who have access to the final phase. Sand used the eight vehicles available, among which we found as a novelty, the KTM X-Bow, Comp R, the Vühl 05 ROC Edition, the Polaris Slingshot SLR camera and the RX Supercar Lites. The competition will start this Saturday, 21 January at 21:00 hours (Spain), and you can continue streaming on the official website of the event.

Group To Group B Group C Group D
P1 Sebastian Vettel (GER) Juan Pablo Montoya (COL) Jenson Button (GBR) Tom Kristensen (DEN)
P2 Trevis Pastrana (USA) Petter Solberg (NOR) Kyle Busch (USA) Kurt Busch (USA)
P3 Alex Rossi / Scott Speed (USA) Felipe Massa (BRA) Tony Kanaan (BRA) David Coulthard (GBR)
P4 Helio Castroneves (BRA) Pascal Wehrlein (GER) James Hinchcliffe (CAN) Ryan Hunter-Reay (USA)


ROC Nations Cup

For the day Sunday, January 22, reserves the ROC Nations Cup, the category in which it competes for couples defending the interests of a country’. When there is a high volume of american riders, it has been chosen by all encompassing everyone in the Group, in such a way that there are a total of three teams of the united States, one formed by pilots, Nascar, other drivers of IndyCar and a third party for riders of Rallycross. In addition, this group also appears on the canadian team, composed by James Hinchcliffe and Stefan Rzadzinski, this last pilot is almost unknown to the great public.

The dynamics of the ROC Nations Cup is very similar to the individual competition, with the proviso that there is to do duels are best-of-three to have two drivers per team. In this aspect, it should be noted that in the day Sunday will enter in action Gabriel Glusman. This ‘pilot’ argentine will partner with Helio Castroneves, but his presence in the Race of Champions is not due to their sporting successes, since this is an amateur be able to compete with their idols after winning a contest. The ROC Nations Cup will start on Sunday from 18:00 hours (Spain), and also can be followed by the streaming official.

Group To Group B Group C
T1 USA Nascar
(Kurt / Kyle Busch)
Great Britain
(Button / Coulthard)
South America
(Castroneves / Glusman)
T2 USED IndyCar
(Hunter-Reay and Alex Rossi)
(Vettel / Wehrlein)
(Kanaan / Massa)
T3 USED Rally X
(Pastrana / Speed)
(Kristensen / Solberg)
(Montoya / Chaves)
T4 Canada
(Hinchcliffe / Rzadzinski)