New disaster for McLaren-Honda’s test, Bahrain


The first day of the tests was a replica of the standard pattern for McLaren-Honda in the Big Prizes. The new motor specification japanese that Oliver Turvey was brand new in Bahrain ended the same way as the previous: a broken and replaced by another.

Only two laps were necessary for that to happen, forcing McLaren to give up a large part of the day of filming and only able to return to the track at the last hour of the evening. But the day began in a similar way to Mercedes, who caused the first red flag of the day with Lewis Hamilton at the wheel, although the briton was able to return to the track an hour and a half later.

Sean Gelael nor had a home of your dream, standing in the curve 11 a few minutes after the first red flag of Hamilton, while the Toro Rosso returned also to the asphalt about 11.30 in the morning, already with three and a half hours of test completion. Unfortunately for him, a few minutes after the lunch break once again suffered a mechanical problem, causing a new red flag.

Pirelli works with Ferrari

The only team that had two cars on the track was Ferrari, while Sebastian Vettel was dedicated to work exclusively with Pirelli and its program of development of the tyres this year and 2018, while Antonio Giovinazzi was the normal program of development of the SF70-H.


Daniel Ricciardo was the fastest rider in the lunch break, but his Red Bull led to an hour later the fourth red flag of the day to stand in the curve 1. Half an hour from the end of the session, Lewis Hamilton managed the fastest time of the day, setting a time of 1:31.358.

At 18:10 local time it was finished the day of the tests for all except for Sebastian Vettel, who would continue three more hours the analysis of tires with Pirelli, for small mechanical problems in the Ferrari had prevented the Italian brand to complete the program previsto.

Posición Piloto Equipo Tiempo Vueltas
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:31.358 97
Antonio Giovinazzi Ferrari 1:31.984 93
Daniel Ricciardo Network Bull 1:32.349 45
Romain Grosjean Haas 1:32.452 87
Felipe Massa Williams 1:32.509 56
Nico Hülkenberg Renault 1:33.624 74
Lance Stroll Williams 1:33.729 35
Sam Gelael Toro Rosso 1:33.885 78
Sebastian Vettel Ferrari-Pirelli 1:33.894 89*
10ºº Alfonso Celis Force India 1:33.939 71
11º Marcus Ericsson Sauber 1:34.550 106
12º Oliver Turvey McLaren 1:35.011 17

*Data up to 18:10 local time. Vettel continued three hours as part of the program of Pirelli.