Nico Rosberg wins the Laureus to the outbreak of World 2016


This Tuesday, the 18th edition of the Premios Laureus, the ex-pilot of Formula 1 Nico Rosberg has been recognized with the Award to the outbreak of World 2016, after getting his first title of world champion of Formula 1. The gala has been held in Monaco, place of residence of Rosberg, and the German pilot has attended to collect his award from the hands of the champion Emerson Fittipaldi, one of the two ex-pilots that are part of the Academy of Laureus along with the Finnish Mika Häkkinen.

The Prizes Laureus, created in the year 2000 to honor and celebrate great achievements in the world of sport have recognised the work of Rosberg, who managed this season to become champion of the world with his partner, the three-time Lewis Hamilton, something that few had. Just a few days after, Rosberg shake again the world of sport, the announce his retirement, and that wouldn’t defend the title won. His former team, Mercedes, had received a nomination as best team of the year, but have been defeated by the Chicago Cubs of baseball.

The Rosberg is the the fifth time in history that a Formula 1 driver takes the award to the Irruption of the year. Previously, the award was given to Juan Pablo Montoya (2001), Lewis Hamilton (2007), Jenson Button (2009) and Daniel Ricciardo (2014). The Formula 1 has also been the protagonist of the main prizes: Michael Schumacher he was named the athlete of the year in 2001 and 2003, and occurred with Sebastian Vettel in 2013.

, both Renault, in 2005, as Brawn, in 2010, were awarded as the best team of the year, and Niki Lauda, a former member of the Academy of Laureus, last year received the award for an entire career, after two years in which this category had fallen vacant.