Paraguay, a great novelty in the route of the Dakar 2017


The next edition of the Dakar Rally already has range. The race will start on January 2, 2017 in Asunción (Paraguay) and will end on the 14th of January in Buenos Aires (Argentina). Without a trace of Chile on the route after the lack of an agreement between the local authorities and the ASO, the 12 stages of the test fro by Paraguay, Bolivia and Argentina. With Bolivia taking a greater weight in the race and Argentina assuming the characteristic end of the test tour with a very recognizable, the great novelty resides in the emergence of Paraguay and the start of the rally in Asuncion.

The presence of Paraguay in the 39th edition of the Dakar Rally is somewhat symbolic, as Paraguay will only welcome a stage and although Asuncion is the setting of the output of this raid, the first day of competitive finishes in Argentina. After a passage by the north of the country, will compete in four stages in Bolivia, nation that will be the rest day (8 January) in Peace. From there you will begin a descent by the geography of south america to reach new Argentina with the desert of Fiambalá as the great protagonist in the absence of the Atacama desert (Chile).


In any case, the ingredients of the Dakar 2017 may not be best.
More than 9,000 kilometres and a 50% travel unpublished are your keys.
In addition, of the 12 stages, six will be played in high altitude, being
Bolivia great protagonist in this aspect as it shows the day of
rest, which will be held in La Paz (4,000 meters on the level of the
sea). In addition,
it is foreseen that a single-stage marathon with park closed,
3 stages with more than 450 kilometres against the clock and a special
pure resistance with 700 miles. And all with the presence, as
we say of a
Paraguay becomes the fifth nation to host the Dakar in South america after Argentina, Bolivia, Chile and Peru, being the 29th country present in your path.

Stages of the Dakar 2017

Date Stage Home End
02 January Stage 1 Assumption Resistance
03 January Stage 2 Resistance SM de Tucumán
04 January Stage 3 SM de Tucumán SS of Juyuy
05 January Stage 4 SS of Juyuy Tupiza
06 January Stage 5 Tupiza Oruro
07 January Stage 6 Oruro Peace
08 January Rest (Peace)
09 January Stage 7 Peace Uyuni
10 January Stage 8 Uyuni Jumps
11 January Stage 9 Jumps Chilecito
12 January Stage 10 Chilecito San Juan
13 January Stage 11 San Juan Rio Cuarto
14 January Stage 12 Rio Cuarto Buenos Aires