'Pechito' Lopez is a champion of the WTCC with a gift to Muller


It smelled of victory and a title, but ‘only’ it was the second.
‘Pechito’ Lopez has won his third crown of the WTCC after finishing second
in the main race of the event at Motegi. The argentine, knowing that the
title was theirs with the cancellation of the event in Thailand, allowed to pass in the
penultimate lap to Yvan Muller
so that the French got their first
win of the year in a ‘Main Race’. All in all, Citroën Racing also seen
to judgment, the title of builders with a doublet Tiago Monteiro
watched from the podium. Mehdi Bennani has been the best pilot privado.

‘Pechito’ Lopez was asserting its pole to be placed in the lead on the first curve ahead of teammate Yvan Muller. Tiago Monteiro managed to be placed third, overtaking Mehdi Bennani, while Tom Chilton was installed in the first few meters in the fifth position ahead of the Volvo S60 of Nestor Girolami. However, the big battles at the beginning of the carrear is forged by behind as they Norbert Michelisz and Rob Huff were trying to overcome Thed Björk, while the Lada had its more and its less out of the top ten with drawn alternatives outside of the asphalt.

once the position is stabilised, the battles became something more civilized and thus it was patent in the various attempts of overtaking between Tarquini and Thompson, although the main actors were the Volvo S60 since Thed Björk ahead of Michelisz in the back of the circuit, while Nestor Girolami was a great maneuver to Tom Chilton. The argentine left samples of his quality rising to fifth position. The one that won in all this fight was a Mehdi Bennani escapes final shape of the group to leave assured her letter square.


In the ecuador of the race, the same was view to
sentence. Pechito’ Lopez got endorsed a 1.7-second to Yvan Muller,
escaping to victory. For its part, the French rider also received
great pressure from a Tiago Monteiro who in spite of their initial attempts do not
could keep up with the pace of the Citroën C-Elysée. Also Mehdi Bennani claimed
in great measure its fourth position, so that the attention was focused on the
battles for the last positions, with the right to points with the duel
continued from Gabriele Tarquini and James Thompson as a great focus of interest

When this fight came to an end, Nicky Catsburg took over and managed to overtake James Thompson, leaving the last major maneuver of the race before a final, more predictable and at the same time perfect for the interests of Citroën by the absence of nerves. Alone and with no opposition, ‘Pechito’ Lopez gave him the victory Yvan Muller, leaving to escape their eighth win of the season. This result, subject to the cancellation of the event in Thailand, it was more than enough to close the championship as champion. In a sign of its superiority, ‘Pechito’ sealed his third title of the WTCC in the absence of two weekends.

With the champion, ending his title by gift, Muller included, the rest of the pilots were losing prominence. In spite of this, ‘Pechito’ and Tiago Monteiro completed the podium of the the’Main Race’ in Motegi, despite the mechanical problems of Honda pilot in the last few laps. Fourth was for his part Mehdi Bennani as the best private pilot, while Nestor Girolami claimed his first ‘top five’ in the WTCC in his second race with the Volvo. Tom Chilton, Thed Björk, Norbert Michelisz, Rob Huff and Gabriele Tarquini were in charge of closing the points on the path japanese.

Classification main race WTCC 2016 at Motegi

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 14 laps
2nd José Maria ‘Pechito’ López Citroën C-Elysée WTCC +1.045
3rd Tiago Monteiro Honda Civic WTCC +2.561
4th Mehdi Bennani Citroën C-Elysée WTCC +3.280
5th Néstor Girolami Volvo S60 Polestar TC1 +5.204
6th Tom Chilton Citroën C-Elysée WTCC +7.638
7th Thed Björk Volvo S60 Polestar TC1 +9.159
8th Norbert Michelisz Honda Civic WTCC +12.094
9th Rob Huff Honda Civic WTCC +15.769
10th Gabriele Tarquini Lada Vesta WTCC +16.746