Peter Hickman wins the 50th GP Macau Motorcycle


The GP Macau Motorcycle met his 50th anniversary
one of the editions with less diversity on the grid. With three of the biggest
favorites in the team Barthams / SMT Racing and with the BMW S1000RR as the bike
preferred of the fastest drivers, the end result had to follow this
equation. And so it has been, since Peter Hickman has secured the victory in
the Circuito Da Guia
, adding its second consecutive victory in Macau at the
the back of the BMW. Second, for its part, has been his partner Michael Rutter, while
the podium has closed Martin Jessopp, also with a BMW.

The pace seen in the free and the classification, left
the pole in the hands of Martin Jessopp, was soon to be evident in career and
after an output is fairly clean and without incident, the favorites are not followed in the
break the race. Michael Rutter was in charge of pulling the group of four
that formed Martin Jessopp, Glenn Irwin and Peter Hickman, who saved
its discrete classification with a good first lap to join this
terna. On the opposite side, Gary Johnson had a bad start, which in
to a large extent mortgaged its options.


Although Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp were trying to leave
back to his two traveling companions, what is certain is that none of the two got
and it came to the last two laps with everything you decide. Rutter and Hickman
they managed to overtake the pair to Jessopp
, with a small jump in his change of
marches fell to the fourth position. However, Jessopp recovering the
in third position, immediately the entire time that Glenn Irwin had a problem
mechanical that prevented him from fighting for the podium
in which it has been promising
debut in the GP of Macau.

In the duel to three, Peter Hickman managed to take the cat
the water
, and crossed the finish line in first position, repeating the victory
he reached in 2015. Michael Rutter, who could not add up his ninth win on the
GP of Macao by just five-tenths, it had to settle with the second
position, while Martin Jessopp closed the podium of the 50th GP of Macau of
Motorcycling. Conor Cummins finished fourth with the Honda, although more
20 seconds of the head, while Horst Saiger was fifth. In a battle intense enough between former winners of the test, Stuart Easton surpassed
John McGuinness on the sixth square

Results of the 50th Grand Prix of Macao Motorcycle

Position Pilot Brand Time
1 Peter Hickman Bathams/SMT Racing BMW 12 rounds
2nd Michael Rutter Bathams/SMT Racing BMW +0.533
3rd Martin Jessopp Riders Motorcycles BMW BMW +0.655
4th Conor Cummins Honda Racing Honda +20.856
5th Horst Saiger Saiger Racing Kawasaki +23.201
6th Stuart Easton Bathams/SMT Racing BMW +35.547
7th John McGuinness Honda Racing Honda +35.644
8th Ian Hutchinson Tyco BMW BMW +39.519
9th Derek Sheils Cookstown Burrows Suzuki +46.389
10th Dan Cooper Dan Cooper Racing BMW +50.503