Peugeot Sport is 30 years in the Dakar

Peugeot Sport has an intimate relationship with the desert and the Dakar. The signature gala has only raced on six occasions
officially in the Dakar in 30 years, but he has won five times the
raid more hard of the world
. With 56 stage wins to their backs, cars
have left a great legacy as the Peugeot 205 Turbo, the 405 Turbo 16 or the 2008
DRK and riders of the caliber and tronío of Jean Todt, Ari Vatanen, Jacky Ickx, Juha
Kankkunen, Carlos Sainz, Sébastien Loeb and Stéphane Peterhansel, it is evident that
Peugeot Sport is living history of the Dakar

it is Not easy to boast of such a record as that
Peugeot Sport on the Dakar
. With more than 48.125 km in competition in Africa and
18.994 km in South america, the legacy of the French brand dates back to 1987,
first participation. In the Place d’armes of Paris presented on Peugeot by
the first time as an official team
with Ari Vatanen at the wheel of a Peugeot 205
Turbo 16 with the dorsal 205. Despite his accident in the prologue and a great
scare in the final stretch of the test, Ari Vatanen was proclaimed champion in the
Lac Rose of Dakar
. Peugeot won 10 stages.


The Dakar in 1988 was the most hard of all those who have played. To
his only goal came in 151 participants of the 603 who took part. Also
it was especially hard to Peugeot, which he saw as Ari Vatanen was disqualified after
suffer the theft of your car
in Bamako. Although the vehicle was recovered,
Vatanen did not take the exit-time. The leadership lost went to Juho
and his Peugeot 205, that ended up with the win. In 1989,
Peugeot won again in this edition that will be remembered for the rivalry between
Vatanen and Icks. The victory of Vatanen decided by the famous coin to the
air Jean Todt
, Team Leader.

In 1990 Peugeot has signed the fourth consecutive victory of the hand of Ari Vatanen, triumph that it is linked necessarily with the Dakar 2015, when it consolidated the return of Peugeot to the Dakar. Carlos Sainz, Stéphane Peterhansel and Cyril Despres failed to lead to the victory of the Peugeot 2008 DKR, a buggy with a turbo engine V6 of 3.0 liters and 340 horsepower. A season of learning that served as the starting point for the triumph achieved by Stéphane Peterhansel in 2016 and that served to Peugeot Sport to be crowned five-times winner of the raid more hard of the world. Now, the Peugeot 3008 DKR is called to search for the ‘Touareg’ on the 30th anniversary of the French brand in the Dakar.