Prior schedules and Rally of Wales WRC 2017


The Rally of Wales is one of the most charisma of the entire season. Its forests, its particular meteorology, and the british fans are part of a recipe that tends to be liked by drivers and teams. On this occasion, the appointment welsh arrives as the penultimate round of the calendar of the WRC and that among other things means that can be the stage where you decide the title. Only Sébastien Ogier can achieve this milestone, while M-Sport has everything in his hand to get out champion of builders. However, the muddy sections that tend to star in this rally can play tricks.

The Rally of Wales is one of the quotations most iconic and more history of the WRC. It was played for the first time in 1932, which makes him one of the rally’s oldest calendar. Its forests and its unpredictable weather are its hallmark and what makes this test unique. Sébastien Ogier, Hannu Mikkola and Petter Solberg with four wins each are the pilots most successful in Wales, while Ford with 12 victories is the brand that more successes has been harvested in the British Isles.

Deeside hosts the base of the test with your park assistance, allowing the Rally of Wales to focus on the regions of the centre and the north of the country. Beyond the first special stage on the racecourse of Tir Prince of Thursday evening, the competition starts on Friday with the day’s competitive disputed to the south. sections of ‘Myherin’, ‘Sweet Lamb’, and ‘Hafren’ form the loop of the first stage, a loop which is played by two times with a assistance middle to change tires and mount the grills, headlights, because there will be no assistance until the end of the day.


The Saturday is made up of nine sections. The riders were faced with a half-marathon with 17 hours of competition on a day that also will be hard for the own mechanical, with seven special vie of tug, including two passes through the 25 km of ‘Dyfi’. Almost 100 kilometres of survival that will give way to the last two stages of the night. The third and final stage of Sunday dispute at the north of Wales, between the lakes of Brenig and Alwen, who gave their name to two special. The rally consists of 21 special 304,36 kilometres timed.

The weather defined this rally, in all its aspects. Although there are only rainy forecast for the stage Friday, what is certain is that the forecast can change from one day to another. Be that as it may, if the precipitation is made act of presence, the mud and the fog tend to be two factors that make this test and therefore the tires mounted. gums soft S5 Michelin and its equivalent from the range DMG+22, DMACK tend to win the game in this rally, as it is usual that the stretches are engulfed and the support surface is slippery and soft.

As is logical, all the light bulbs are placed in Sébastien Ogier. The French have to finish the Rally of Wales with 31 points to become the champion, while M-Sport has almost secured the title of builders with one of their cars score. From this premise, all of the pressure also remains on the preparer of Cumbria and extends to an Ott Tanak who is struggling to be the runner-up position. On the opposite side, Hyundai will try to avoid what seems inevitable, although Thierry Neuville with an escort of luxury formed by Andreas Mikkelsen, Hayden Paddon and Dani Sordo will try to extend the resolution of the championship.


Dani Sordo is one of the two pilots that they say goodbye to their season in Wales. The spaniard will not travel to Australia, although the situation is more dramatic for Juho Hänninen, who faces his last rally with the Toyota Yaris WRC. On the opposite side of the coin, Kris Meeke and Craig Breen will attempt to leave the flag high for Citroën, with Khalid Al-Qassimi as a companion. Without changes at Toyota, it is worth noting the presence of Mads Ostberg and the return of Henning Solberg, which will debut with a World Rally Car of new generation.

The class WRC2 comes with champion, but with a lot of emotion to offer. Skoda appear with Pontus Tidemand and Ole-Christian Veiby as spearheads, while that for M-Sport are Eric Camilli and Teemu Suninen, in addition to a Kalle Rovanperä that has attracted a huge expectation. To these names we must add those of Benito War, Gus Greensmith and Tom Cave -competing in-house, Fabio Andolfi or Max Vatanen, as well as a veteran Matthew Wilson. Fabio Andolfi returns to compete with the Hyundai i20 R5, same car that used already out of category Jari Huttunen, the new pilot junior Hyundai.

Sections and schedules of the 73rd Rally of Wales

Thursday, 26 October 2017

Time Stretch Name Kilometraje
09:00h SD Clocaenog (Shakedown) 3,32 km
20:00h SS1 Conwy Tir Prince 1,53 km

Friday, October 27, 2017

Time Stretch Name Mileage
11:20h SS2 Myherin 1 19,45 km
12:00h SS3 Sweet Lamb 1 4,24 km
12:15h SS4 Hafren 1 35,14 km
15:31h SS5 Myherin 2 19,45 km
16:11h SS6 Sweet Lamb 2 4,24 km
16:26h SS7 Hafren 2 35,14 km

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Time Stretch Name Mileage
08:55h SS8 Aberhirnant 1 13,91 km
09:47h SS9 Dyfnant 1 17,91 km
10:59 SS10 Gartheiniog 1 12,61 km
11:28h ss11 state road Dyfi 1 25,86 km
13:08h SS12 Gartheiniog 1 (Red Bull TV, WRC+) 12,61 km
13:37h SS13 Dyfi 2 25,86 km
16:45h SS14 Dyfnant 2 1,80 km
19:52h SS15 Aberhirnant 2 13,91 km
20:44h SS16 Dyfnant 2 17,91 km

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Time Stretch Name Mileage
09:34h SS17 Alwen 1 10,41 km
10:08h SS18 Brenig 1 (TV, WRC+) 6,43 km
11:07h SS19 Gwydyr 7,41 km
12:10h SS20 Alwen 2 10,41 km
13:18h SS21 Brenig 2 (PS) (TV**, WRC+) 6,43 km

* Live by Movistar Sports, Red Bull TV or WRC+.
** The emission is not in direct.