Prior, schedules and routes of the Low Aragon 2017


Everything is ready for the celebration of the Baja Aragon 2017. For the fifth consecutive year, the city and province of Teruel are flushed with the celebration of one of the most important events of the calendar of the rally-raids in Spain, but also at the continental level. The clearest example of this is the list of enrolled of a test that reaches its 34th edition with a record number of participants. However, more than 230 vehicles are gathered in a test scoring for the World cup FIA and FIM Rally Cross-Country, for the Dakar Challenge and the Championship of Spain of All-Terrain Rally (CERTT).

The Low Aragon 2017 it has 20% more entries in recent years as a result of the confluence of different categories. However, 77 cars FIA will take part in this 34th edition of the test, with up to 13 pilots are a priority for the International Federation. 31 cars have registered for the Dakar Challenge, a format that will give the winner a seat directly involved in the issue 2018 to the Dakar. To all these we must add 70 bikes and quads, 24 buggies that will enjoy specialty not competitive Polaris Experience, 7 participants of the Low and more than a dozen trucks.



The epicentre of the test will be the paddock is located in the Palacio de Congresos de Teruel, where fans will be able to see from up close to the riders and teams registered. Each day will be the starting point and arrival of the Low Aragon, divided into three days of competition with 800 miles, nearly 600 of which are timed. The riders will face a prologue of less than 10 kilometres during the day Friday, a small shot of contact that will serve to determine the order of output in the face the two specials will be played during the day of Saturday.

The day of Saturday will start at 8:48 pm with the celebration of the SS2 between Teruel and Perales Alfambra, in a special 216,92 kilometres against the clock. The other leg of the journey is the ‘tireless efforts – Teruel’ with their 133,78 kilometers. One of the major innovations in the 34th edition of the Baja Aragon is that the two sections of the Saturday shall not be used as the basis of the special Sunday, which will be completely new. This stretch of Sunday ‘Barrachina – Cuade’ will decide the winners with their 184,05 kilometres against the clock. The test will take for the Region of Jiloca, the Community of Teruel, Mining valleys and the Sierra de Albarracín.


Nasser Al-Attiyah, Nani Roma and Mikko Hirvonen are the three peaks challengers in the car category, while Martin Prokop, Leeroy Poulter, Xevi Pons and ‘Orly’ Terranova are called to fight at least for the podium, like Aron Domzala. The pilots of the South Racing or Nicolas Fuchs can also perform at a high level. In key Spanish and with the struggle for the CERTT of the fund, the duel between Oscar Fuentes, Cristina Gutierrez, and Ruben Gracía is a clear focus of interest. Also see the performance of Isidre Esteve with his new BMW X6 adapted or Jesus Calleja, who will be in the next Dakar funded by the Al-Attiyah.

In the bike category, Joan Barreda seems to be the rival to beat. The Honda pilot has with Michael Metge as a squire. However, the Himoinsa Racing Team has four drivers of talent such as Iván Cervantes, Marc Sola, Daniel Oliveras and Rosa Romero. Joan Pedrero directed the designs of Sherco, while it will be interesting to see who can make Jan Brabec with the Yamaha, Cristian Spain with the KTM or Txomin Arana on their return to the competition with his Husqvarna. Another pilot to follow is Txus Pure, while in the quads all eyes are on Jose Luis Espinosa.

Schedule of the 34th edition of the Low Aragón

Fecha Tramo Horario Km.
Friday July 21, SS1 – Prologue (Teruel) Output bikes: 17:25h
Output cars: 18:25h
9,30 km
Saturday 22 July SS2 (Teruel – Perales Alfambra) Output cars: 08:48
Output bikes: 13:30
216,92 km
Saturday 22 July ß3 (tireless efforts – Teruel) Output bikes: 09:28h
Output cars: 14:00
133,78 km
Sunday, July 23 SS4 (Barrachina – Caude) Output bikes: 08:00h
Output cars: 11:20pm
184,05 km