Program reduced of Porsche in LMP1 and GT 2016


Few surprises in the sports program of Porsche in 2016.
As announced two weeks ago and it has been confirmed in the press release
official, the signature of Stuttgart will compete with two Porsche 919 Hybrid in the
category LMP1
of the Endurance World. Following in the footsteps of Audi, the
German brand will align only two units of its LMP1 in the 24 Hours
of Le Mans. The crews in both vehicles is kept without changes by
what Timo Bernhard, Brendon Hartley and Mark Webber will defend the title,
while Romain Dumas, Neel Jani and Marc Lieb will race in car #2.

To defend the title harvested in the WEC, the 919 Hybrid will be the object of improvements in many areas, assuming a technical evolution of the
vehicle type-approved in 2015. The new prototype will be presented in the marking
from the Preface -pre-test – WEC Paul Ricard, on the 25th day of march, 2016. The signature
German maintains its commitment mechanical and the Porsche 919 Hybrid is maintained in the
subcategoria hybrid 8MJ
. Uses lithium-ion batteries to store
the energy accumulated by the two energy recovery systems that
presents the model.


Finally, Porsche will have the official program in the category
. The German educational trust Richard Lietz and Michael Christensen
to defend the title harvested in 2015 at the wheel of the 919 RSR. With reason
of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, Wolf Henzler will be added to this couple. For its part,
in the category GTE-Am, Porsche will continue trusting in Proton Dempsey Racing as
training semi-official of the brand. The actor estadounidesen Patrick Dempsey
will continue in the WEC 2016 as a partner and pilot of the team, provided that their
commitments film permit. Patrick Dempsey program
partial with different tests selected

The firm will field two Porsche 911 RSR extra in 24 Hours
Le Mans
. Nick Tandy and Earl Bamber are reallocated in the project of GT
after winning in 2015, the test in the LMP1. In this way, the first of the
919 RSR will be driven by Patrick Pilet, Kévin Estre and Nick Tandy, while
the second unit will be to Earl Bamber, Frederic Makowiecki and Jörg Bergmeister.
In addition to the inclusion of the two pilots, winners of the 24 Hours of Le Mans,
also it should be noted that Kévin Estre happens to be the official driver for Porsche and
increases to 16 the roster of riders of the mark.