Ride unprecedented of ART, with George Russell as the winner


From the last season, ART Grand Prix has emerged as the team dominator of the GP3, with results much more solid and compelling than those of its rivals. Last year, three of their four drivers earned eight of the nine poles in the game and nine of the 18 wins, in addition to monopolize the top two positions in the general Charles Leclerc and Alexander Albon, both in Formula 2 this year. In Austria, his new squad of four pilots has reached a milestone unparalleled in the category, the occupy the first four positions in the main race at the Red Bull Ring.

The first two positions remained the same throughout the test. From the pole, George Russell retained its privileged position on Jack Aitken in an output rugged. Fighting for the third position on the grid, Anthoine Hubert, who had already gained three positions at the start, collided with Leonardo Pulcini and Steijn Schothorst when put in parallel with them, causing the abandonment of both pilots and a Virtual Safety Car. The order did not change after the restart, but Race Direction decided to impose a penalty of 10 seconds on the French rider that ended up costing the podium.

In head, Russell remained a small margin of a second, with Aitken during the entire race to take his first victory in the category, and the tenth in his career in single-seaters. Fukuzumi, who arrived as leader to this appointment, completed the podium thanks to a good comeback: coming out of the tenth, took advantage of the incidents of the output and surpassed Ryan Tveter and Giuliano Alesi after the resalida. Fortunately for Hubert, the huge plug that Tveter mounted in the middle zone during a large part of the race made that only lost one position, finishing fourth and completing the full ART in head.


During a large part of the test, Tveter led a huge group of cars that remained stable for nearly the entire race, followed by Alesi, Dorian Boccolacci (who lost 5 positions to catch him by surprise the relaunch after the VSC and won two at the track in the next lap), Alessio Lorandi, Raoul Hyman and Tatiana Calderon. On the penultimate lap, Boccolacci broke the ice and said to Tveter, but two errors in the last made him lose five positions. Finally, Tveter managed to keep the fifth position, Alesi, Lorandi and Hyman. The ninth place was originally for Calderon, but the colombian received a sanction of 5 seconds by winning various positions with a yellow flag and he fell to the 13th place. Boccolacci, therefore, ended up in ninth place ahead of Arjun Maini.

The triumph allows Russell to get to the front of the overall with 49 points, five more than his teammate Fukuzumi, who will attempt to recover the command of the category in the appointment sprint in the morning, from 09:10. The best pilot outside of ART remains Alessio Lorandi, in fourth position, with 18 points from the british. A lot will have to paddle in Jenzer, Arden and company to beat a squad in search of the absolute rule.

main Race of the GP3 Series 2017 at the Red Bull Ring

Position Pilot Turns Time / difference
1 George Russell ART Grand Prix 24 34.13.306
Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 24 2.390
3rd Nirei Fukuzumi ART Grand Prix 24 5.646
4th Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix 24 14.051
Ryan Tveter Trident 24 23.181
6th Giuliano Alesi Trident 24 23.885
7th Alessio Lorandi Jenzer Motorsport 24 24.363
8th Raoul Hyman Campos Racing 24 24.930
9th Dorian Boccolacci Trident 24 25.920
10th Arjun Maini Jenzer Motorsport 24 26.229
11th Kevin Jörg Trident 24 28.975
12 Mark Siebert Campos Racing 24 29.198
13th Tatiana Calderon DAMS 24 30.489
14th Bruno Baptista DAMS 24 31.654
15 Julien Falcherò Campos Racing 23 +1v
Niko Kari Arden International 14
Santino Ferrucci DAMS 3
Steijn Schothorst Arden Motorsport 2
Leonardo Pulcini Arden Motorsport 0

the general Classification of the GP3 Series 2017 (round 2 8)

Position Pilot Puntos
George Russell ART Grand Prix 49
2nd Nirei Fukuzumi ART Grand Prix 44
3rd Anthoine Hubert ART Grand Prix 34
4th Alessio Lorandi Jenzer Motorsport 31
5th Arjun Maini Jenzer Motorsport 22
6th Dorian Boccolacci Trident 22
7th Jack Aitken ART Grand Prix 22
8th Leonardo Pulcini Arden International 18
9th Ryan Tveter Trident 10
10th Raoul Hyman Campos Racing 10
11th Giuliano Alesi Trident 8
12 Santino Ferrucci DAMS 3
13th Mark Siebert Campos Racing 1