Schedules and pre-GP Abu Dhabi 2015


Photo: Ferrari

What’s left to decide?

Though nothing will change in the podium riders or teams, yes there are some things that are not yet finiquitadas in this championship and that will be decided in the last race. For example, the fourth between the two drivers, to which they aspire Bottas and Raikkonen (136 and 135 points) and Massa, although with their options very limited after his disqualification from the Grand Prix of Brazil (117 points). Kvyat (94) pulls out ten points to his teammate Ricciardo (84) and has in his hand the seventh position. It is also to be decided who will be the pilot to close the TOP10, with Hulkenberg ahead of time with 52 points, compared to 49 Grosjean and Verstappen. Maldonado and Nasr are tied for 27 in the 13th square.

Nothing to alter the championship for Mercedes, the runner-up position for Ferrari, the third place of Williams, the fourth Red Bull and fifth for Force India (its best historical classification). However, Toro Rosso (67 points) you want to steal sixth place at Lotus (76), and at the same distance of nine points is McLaren (27) Sauber (36). Are the struggles that are left to confirm is definitely the table of the drivers and the teams.

A little history

In 2007, it was announced that the Formula 1 is premiered in Abu Dhabi, a country of non-automotive tradition, starting in the year 2009. That same year he held an exhibition attended by several riders and it was a resounding success in assistance. The first edition would be for Vettel, who managed the runner-up position in 2009, after Jenson Button. The 2010 edition was the most exciting so far, with up to four riders playing the world. He returned to win Vettel, who also became the first champion of the world. The German would break his streak breakdown in 2011, and Hamilton was the winner of that edition in which there was no title at stake.

2012 he also had history. Vettel and Alonso played the title, though after Abu Dhabi had another career, that of Brazil. The German, ranked third, well ahead of his rival, but was penalized for running out of fuel and had to start from the pit-lane. With a great comeback he finished third, behind Raikkonen and Alonso, which earned him to be three-time in the last test. In 2013, Vettel achieved his second pole position there and his third win. 2014 decided to back the winner of the championship, the only race in history to score a double. Hamilton won the race and was crowned champion, far outpacing the other pilot with options, his team-mate Rosberg.


Photo: Ferrari

The numbers of the riders in Abu Dhabi

there Are six editions of the Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi since its premiere in 2009. The pilot the one that best gives you the Yas Marina is to Sebastian Vettel, that is the most victories he has accomplished there, three (half). We follow Hamilton with two, and the remaining was for Kimi Raikkonen. In poles, also dominate Vettel and Hamilton, and both managed two. The other two were dealt with Mark Webber and Nico Rosberg. Vettel makes ‘hattrick‘ and is the driver with most fastest laps in Abu Dhabi, two, by one of Hamilton, Alonso, Webber and Ricciardo. It is also the most podiums has been achieved, four, followed by Button and Hamilton, both with three. They have also finished among the top three Webber and Alonso (twice) and Raikkonen, Rosberg, Massa and Bottas (on one occasion).

Pirelli, farewells and press

The brand Pirelli leads to the last race its compounds less resistant, the soft (with the strip of yellow) and the superblando (red color). The choice is due to that the Yas Marina is urban. In fact, for the next season have already announced that they will carry the tire ultrablando (which debuts Tuesday at a test in the same path) on the street circuits. We expect two stops. The pilots that will be attending the press conference of the FIA are Fernando Alonso, Lewis Hamilton, Romain Grosjean, Daniil Kvyat, Roberto Merhi and Kimi Raikkonen. On the part of the teams will be Maurizio Arrivabene (Ferrari), Federico Gastaldi (Lotus), Christian Horner (Red Bull), Claire Williams (Williams), Toto Wolff (Mercedes) and Cyril Abiteboul (Renault).


Photo: Mercedes

last year, this grand prix marked the farewell of Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull and Fernando Alonso of Ferrari, for example. For the next championship, the grill will undergo a few changes, but there are also fired in this case. For example, Romain Grosjean abandons his team always, Lotus, heading to Haas, and already warned that it will be moving. He will share team with Esteban Gutierrez, who will no longer be the reserve driver of Ferrari. Lotus is dismissed as a team, and from 2016, although it is not official (yes the unofficial), will compete as a Renault. At the Manor he is driving again Roberto Merhi, and hopefully not be his farewell, but his future, like that of Rossi (that you will see the grand prix from the outside) and Stevens, it is not confirmed. For the rest, equipment, pilots, and all others, will also be a farewell: the championship 2015.

Times Grand Prix of Abu Dhabi

Times Emiratos Árabes Times España


29/11 – 17:00 29/11 – 14:00


28/11 – 17:00 28/11 – 14:00

Free 3

28/11 – 14:00 28/11 – 11:00

Free 2

27/11 – 17:00 27/11 – 14:00

Free 1

27/11 – 13:00 27/11 – 10:00

The men to follow

Are three free practice sessions, three qualifying sessions (Q1, Q2 and Q3) and 55 laps to the end of the season 2015. The council on this occasion is simple: enjoy and follow all the riders and teams, then the winter without racing it becomes very long.