Sébastien Ogier is on his way to victory in Wales


The second stage of the Rally of Wales kicked off in the gloom and ended night. Day marathon over the slippery mud that has not served to change the trend of the last event of the year. Sebastien Ogier has strengthened its leadership and has an advantage of 35.7 seconds over Kris Meeke in the absence of the four sections. Andreas Mikkelsen closes the podium positions while Dani Sordo is fifth. Without fail among the best rated, the nine special today have been a torture for more than one. Volkswagen has reached the 500 scratch.

The day kicked off with a tires mounted based on the soft option of Michelin. Some riders rode five rubbers in their World Rally Car and the other six, but they all had to suffer a start quite slippery. The first pass ‘Gartheiniog’ and ‘Dify’ left a double scratch for Thierry Neuville, taking advantage of his position of leaving early. Jari-Matti Latvala could not exploit this same advantage at the break and lpalier of his Volkswagen Polo R WRC. In the second stage of the day, Dani Sordo stood at the fourth position before the puncture suffered by Mads Ostberg. The Norwegian had to play five sections with four decks.

The second pass through these special distributing scratch between Ogier and Mikkelsen. However, the battle for second place is lived in the key of mishaps. Dani Sordo suffered a problem with the change that made him have a semi top and a little off the track, which caused cediese at the push of Mads Ostberg and Ott Tanak. Robert Kubica progressed to the tenth position in the SS10. Thierry Neuville suffered a puncture that served as a preamble to the end of an ‘Annus horribilis’. In the ss11 state road, Thierry Neuville suffered a rollover.


The belgian said goodbye to the rally and in your mishap delayed to
Sébastien Ogier
. The French lost the lead to be the i20
WRC in the middle of the track. Kris Meeke jumped to the top of the general
in a way provisional, since the time returned by the commissioners
sporting Sébastien Ogier returned to the classification from the point of origin. Mads
Ostberg suffered an off track and left it for almost two more minutes
that made him lose position with Sordo, Paddon and Evans. The two sections
remaining before the assistance, with the paved section of ‘Chirk
Castle’, had no incidence.

The two special night
they closed the day they were returning to spread their scratch between Andreas
Mikkelsen and Sébastien Ogier, but caused no change among the top ten
best drivers in the Rally of Wales. In spite of this, nearly 35
kilometres against the clock ‘in the dark’ have been nothing comfortable
with two special pretty broken for the first pass, the
grill headlights’t getting adequate lighting to the
vibration of the World Rally Car and the deep mud present in the
sections. The pilots were in accordance with save the ballot.

Sébastien Ogier is the leader at the end of the stage and have it in your hand
the victory
. Andreas Mikkelsen holds a comfortable third position with
more than 1 minute and 40 seconds ahead of Ott Tanak, each time more consolidated
in the fourth place. Dani Sordo is fifth and has a margin of 18
seconds over his team-mate Hayden Paddon. The two pilots of Hyundai
it seems that they have assumed that the company of the runner-up position is too
large though this placed Mads Ostberg in the eighth position.
Lefebvre and Kubica closed the area of points.


Eric Camilli from beginning to end. The French driver leads the
category WRC2, marked by the great rotation during the whole day, what
that scratch is concerned. Craig Breen, Yuriy Protasov, Teemu Suninen and the
own Eric Camilli have added some scratch throughout the day, but the
‘rush’ end of the French rider has made it very your favor the victory. Eric
Camilli has 35 seconds lead on Teemu Suninen
, and hopes to get the
victory would mean a doublet French. Ogier and Camilli point to a
paid tribute to those killed in Paris.

In the fight for the Cup Production, Joan Carchat has
four minutes ahead of Max Rendina
. Despite this, the Italian just
you have to finish to re-edit your title among this type of vehicles. By
last, Ole Christian Veiby is a leader in JWRC despite accumulating 40 seconds of
sanction. In any case, the pilot Norwegian has an advantage of more than two
minutes about Chris Ingram. Quentin Gilbert closes the podium in a category in
the the tough conditions of the Rally of Wales have caused large-scale
distances between the pilots ‘survivors’.

Classification after SS15 of the 71st Rally of Wales

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Sébastien Ogier Volkswagen Polo R WRC 2:40:25.2
2nd Kris Meeke Citroën DS3 WRC +35.7
3rd Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Polo R WRC +1:00.4
4th Ott Tanak Ford Fiesta RS WRC +2:41.1
5th Dani Sordo Hyundai i20 WRC +2:55.8
6th Hayden Paddon Hyundai i20 WRC +3:13.9
7th Elfyn Evans Ford Fiesta RS WRC +3:18.3
8th Mads Ostberg Citroën DS3 WRC +4:21.9
9th Stéphane Lefebvre Citroën DS3 WRC +5:32.6
10th Robert Kubica Ford Fiesta RS WRC +6:31.8

The third and last stage of the Rally of Wales will start this Sunday at 09:26h. The pilots played only 36,43 kilometres against the clock over four specials that will close the test. The Power Stage will decide the last points of the season.