Sébastien Ogier is proclaimed champion in the Rally RACC


In his head there was no other end. Sébastien
Ogier and Julien Ingrassia have added their fourth title in the WRC after getting the
victory at the Rally RACC Catalunya
. The French couple, who didn’t need to
this win to go out a champion, has shown a great ambition to be logged
his third victory in Spain at the wheel of the Volkswagen Polo R WRC. A win
that in addition has claimed the hopes of the local hero, because despite
present battle to the end, Dani Sordo has had to
settle with the second place
. The podium has closed Thierry Neuville.

The last stage of the Rally RACC began in ‘Pratdip’ with a
scratch of Sébastien Ogier
. The French made it clear that the victory should be
yours, and leave you in a position delayed not going to prevent to get it.
Dani Sordo was little I could do before this exhibition of the French, so that
limiting his speech to continue attacking until the final if an error from Ogier
arrived. It was not so, though the first special of the day if charged a
great victim because Kris Meeke had to drop out due to engine problems.
The irish lost the fifth place, which he had acquired after his rollover

With Kris Meeke out of the game and Mads Ostberg in fifth position, the Rally RACC came to the first pass to ‘Duesaigües’, in particular that it would close the rally in the Power Stage. At this point, Jari-Matti Latvala got the scratch, while Sébastien Ogier extended his advantage over Dani Sordo in another four seconds, which left the rally seen for sentence, except for error of last time. For any remaining doubts, in the second pass through ‘Pratdip’ the French came to end in the wake of Latvala, while Martin Prokop had to leave due to an accident.


All in all, there was no surprise in the Power
. Saving the honor after signing a new rally to forget, Jari-Matti Latvala
I got the scratch and the three extra points
, while Sébastien Ogier this
not failed in the last special stage of the rally as he did in 2015, and with the
the second best time in ‘Duesaigües’ he signed his victory at the Rally RACC and
which is more important, his fourth title in the WRC. Dani Sordo without surrender
up to the end had just the Power Stage in third position
, just ahead of
Thierry Neuville and Hayden Paddon, who calcaban their times.

The margin of victory of Sébastien Ogier and the second position of Dani Sordo, the final stretch is not reported as no surprise and Thierry Neuville managed to finish the rally in third position. The double podium for the Deaf and the belgian driver joined to the fourth position of Hayden Paddon and the seventh of Kevin Abbring seal one of the best performances overall of Hyundai Motorsport in the WRC, in addition to allow to delay the decision of the trademark title, as the Korean company has added more points than Volkswagen in this test, Jari-Matti Latvala has not finished in the top ten.

And among the men of Hyundai, pilots have been known to fish in troubled water. The accident Mikkelsen during the day on Saturday and the problems of Kris Meeke and Martin Prokop in the last special of the rally have allowed Mads Ostberg to finish in fifth position, followed by Ott Tanak. Something similar happened in the womb of Skoda Motorsport, training has been seen as Jan Kopecký and Pontus Tidemand have gotten a good loot of points in Salou. The top ten has closed Craig Breen, the best of World Rally Car defenestrados and that has added this point to the basis of accumulating delays and penalizaciónes.


Jan Kopecký has won finally in the category WRC2
in a duel to the face of a dog between the two official drivers of Skoda Motorsport
and that has fallen out of the side of the Czech-based insistence. In the end, Pontus
Tidemand has been left by 15.3 seconds in respect to its companion
, while
that Turán Frigyes has finished in third place in a rally rugged and
chaotic in the second category in the world championship. Jose Antonio ‘Rocket’ Suarez has
finished ninth
after losing 42 minutes and 22 seconds after the re-addiction to the
test after your accident on the day initial.

The victory in WRC3 and between the vehicles of R2 has been to
the Italian Fabio Andolfi
, although in the second section, highlight the
great performance of Nil Solans, absolute second. Despite the different
problems you have had, nor has it been bad the role of Yeray Lemes (7th) and
Pau Frigola (9) between this type of vehicles. In fact, both have been shot in
time of the drivers of reference of the Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy, cup
brand in that has been imposed, Jon Armstrong, but that has as champion
Osian Pryce

final Classification of the 52nd Rally RACC Catalunya

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Sébastien Ogier Volkswagen Polo R WRC 3:13:03.6
2nd DanI Sordo Hyundai i20 WRC +15.6
3rd Thierry Neuville Hyundai i20 WRC +1:15.0
4th Hayden Paddon Hyundai i20 WRC +1:27.8
5th Mads Ostberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC +3:24.4
6th Ott Tanak Ford Fiesta RS WRC +5:24.9
7th Kevin Abbring Hyundai i20 WRC +7:31.3
8th Jan Kopecký Skoda Fabia R5 +9:05.1
9th Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +9.20.4
10th Craig Breen Citroën DS3 WRC +9:57.1