Sébastien Ogier sets the pace of the Rally of Wales


Sébastien is four-time champion in the WRC and the God of Time. Only thus can we explain the absolute control exerted by the French pilot during the second stage of the Rally of Wales. Started the day with something more than half a minute ahead of Ott Tanak and has closed the day, eight sections later, with an identical margin. The frenchman controls to pleasure the threads of a rally in which Ott Tanak also has secured the second position. With the problems of Kris Meeke, the last place on the podium is a thing of Thierry Neuville and Hayden Paddon and the fight for the runner-up position commands.

The day can be defined as an authentic marking of Sébastien Ogier with Ott Tanak, every time the French have been regulating his pace according to the times of Estonian. So it became clear nothing more to start the day, as the scratch of Ott Tanak in the SS9 was countered on the SS10 by Sébastien Ogier. No need to squeeze more of the account, the following two sections fell on the arm of Thierry Neuville and Ott Tanak. In the case of the belgian, a scratch with a very sweet taste as the driver of Hyundai was a great step towards the runner-up position.

however, the fight for the top step of the podium was reduced to two pilots, all time that Kris Meeke lost my way a little after a double puncture slow. With the local rider out of the duel, Neuville was left with a much clearer picture to get the third position and take a giant step towards the runner-up position, the whole time its only rival is Hayden Paddon, and it does not seem that the new zealander arrived to the moment we take the valuable third place to his team mate at Hyundai. Dani Sordo, far from both, nor assumes in principle a threat to Neuville.


all in all, the four remaining sections of the day left three scratch
for Ott Tanak
, much more successful than Ogier the tires mounted and
very smart to take advantage of the benefits of the tires
DMACK. However, the Estonian could not browse through any
the way desandado and the time that it endorsed to Ogier served
to return the rally to the same state it had at the start of the
day. After the super special in the Castle of Cholondeley, Sébastien
Ogier and Ott Tanak were separated by 33,8 seconds
, while
Thierry Neuville amasaba an advantage of 12.6 seconds on Paddon.

Meeke managed to retain the fifth position at the end of the day
with a
advantage of a minute over Dani Sordo. The pilot spaniard lost a lot of
time in the loop morning and although on broad lines has not rolled
bad rhythm, their options for progression in this rally appear to
subject to an error or problem of the riders ahead.
All in all, Sordo remains ahead of Ostberg much more
concerned to halt Jari-Matti Latvala
, every time that Finnish has overcome the problems of transmission of the initial stage and has been located just
seven seconds of the Norwegian.


The area of points to complete the
duo gala formed by Stéphane Lefebvre and Eric Camilli
While the French pilot of the PSA Group is recovering
feelings about the World Rally Car French after missing the last
two rallies by injury, Camilli has managed to climb up to the tenth
position by asserting the performance of his Ford Fiesta RS WRC on
the best classified of the category WRC2, although the rally up to the
time is being quite discreet for the ward of Malcolm Wilson

Esapekka Lappi holds a comfortable lead at the front of the
category WRC2
and closes the second stage of the Rally of Wales with almost a minute
margin on Teemu Suninen. The podium 100% Skoda closes Pontus Tidemand,
all while Jan Kopecký has lost camber with respect to its co-branding partners.
As up to now, Marius Aasen is still the best pilot not Skoda to the
wheel of his Ford Fiesta R5. Out of all option, José Antonio ‘Rocket’ Suarez
still in the competition, like a Pepe Lopez, who sent a huge
superiority between the vehicles RC4 survivors

leaderboard after SS16 of the 72nd Rally of Wales GB

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Sébastien Ogier Volkswagen Polo R WRC 2:43:25.3
2nd Ott Tanak Ford Fiesta RS WRC +33.8
3rd Thierry Neuville Hyundai i20 WRC +1:34.5
4th Hayden Paddon Hyundai i20 WRC +1:47.1
5th Kris Meeke Citroën DS3 WRC +2:29.5
6th Dani Sordo Hyundai i20 WRC +3:36.0
7th Mads Ostberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4:15.0
8th Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Polo R WRC +4:22.2
9th Stéphane Lefebvre Citroën DS3 WRC +6:52.7
10th Eric Camilli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +7:35.6

The Rally of Wales will end this Sunday with the dispute of six special stages without assistance middle. The first tranche will take place from 09:31 am (in Spain) and the pilots face a total of 52,08 kilometres against the clock.