Sébastien Ogier wins fourth Rally of Mexico


Sébastien Ogier has taken victory in the Rally of Mexico, a triumph that served to the French driver to regain the lead of the WRC. Despite being one of the riders most affected at the time of open track in the first stage, punctures and problems of their direct rivals have played in favor of the French, which has already accumulated four gimped in the sections of Guanajuato. Despite suffering a puncture in the last section, Dani Sordo has finished in the second position, while Kris Meeke has closed the podium without being able to remember your triumph 2017.

The third and last stage of the Rally Mexico was played in three sections, with a mounted of rubbers in which Sébastien Ogier was the only one that chose two hard tyres. The French, from the position of leader, was the only one who had the ability to swim and save the clothes, so that gave the pitch to the other riders in need of attack. The first, Jari-Matti Latvala who claimed the scratch in the SS20 in the midst of persecution from the eighth position, a position that he snatched Gus Greensmith. All in all, the main change came in the fight for the podium.

Willing to emulate the success of just a year ago in these same sections, Kris Meeke went out to the attack. However, the strategy does not work as well as in the past, and if by then your ‘excursion’ between the parked cars ended in victory, on this occasion, the ‘tour’ was just that, a bad drink. In fact, Kris Meeke conceded 47 seconds with his track output, which left it to Dani Sordo in a comfortable second position in the absence of the last two stages of the day. All in all, would not be unique in startle between the pilots head.


With the scare in the body after seeing as his car was leaning on the front passenger door on his way out of track, Kris Meeke started the SS21 without wanting to attack. In fact, none of the riders head showed the least interest in taking risks and although Andreas Mikkelsen bordered on the disaster with a little touch, at the end of the first pass of ‘Las Minas’ is saldaba with a script dull and a scratch of Ott Tanak that was no more than the one prior to the controversy that has been established in the WRC since the last Rally of Sweden.

Following the steps of the strategy of Sébastien Ogier in the previous rally, the belgian Thierry Neuville and Ott Tanak decided to leave late afternoon to the Power Stage to have more options to add the extra points offered by this stretch. Although both pilots received a sanction of more than 4 minutes, the strategy they worked on both. However, Ott Tanak got the scratch in the Power Stage, reached the five extra points of the segment. For his part, Thierry Neuville finished fourth -2 extra points – after finishing behind Sébastien Ogier and Jari-Matti Latvala. The ‘top 5’ what completed Andreas Mikkelsen.

despite the large amount of dust in suspension, the Power Stage people have changed their without any type of problem or incidence for the current champion of the WRC and Sébastien Ogier was scoring his fourth victory in the Rally of Mexico. Much more gasp were the last meters of the rally for his most immediate pursuer in the general, any time you Dani Sordo suffered a puncture on the Power Stage. Luckily for the Spanish rider, the flat tire allowed you to reach goal without losing too much time. The low rate of Kris Meeke after his scare in the early hours of the morning was enough to Dull out second and Kris Meeke in third.


Andreas Mikkelsen did well to rally, without committing gross errors, with your fourth, since the points harvested in the key of championship are really valuable. With the homework done, and having proved that it remains at an excellent level, Sebastien Loeb has ended the rally in fifth position, a result that does not reflect its actual performance, and yes the consequences of an unfortunate puncture. Away from the French, with his sanction, and his five extra points, Thierry Neuville has been sixth, just ahead of Pontus Tidemand. The finn Jari-Matti Latvala, Gus Greensmith and Peter Heller have closed the ‘top 10’.

finally, Pontus Tidemand has scored the win in the class WRC2, victoria vale to assault the leadership of the category. The pilot Skoda has not had a rival throughout the test and finally has completed with 6 minutes and 44 seconds of advantage on Gus Greensmith. The podium of the category has been closed, Peter Heller, every time that the chilean has managed to be more consistent Framework Bulacia during the rally in a test in which Kalle Rovanperä, Jari Huttunen, and Nil Solans have had to reenlist by the rules Rally2 after their problems in the first stage.

final Rating for the 15th Rally of Mexico

Pos. Pilot Vehicle Time / Dif.
1 Sébastien Ogier Ford Fiesta RS WRC 3:53:58.0
2nd Dani Sordo Hyundai i20 WRC Coupe +1:13.6
3rd Kris Meeke Citroen C3 WRC +1:29.2
4th Andreas Mikkelsen Hyundai i20 WRC Coupe +1:48.4
5th Sebastien Loeb Citroen C3 WRC +2:34.6
6th Thierry Neuville Hyundai i20 WRC Coupe +9:13.0
7th Pontus Tidemand Skoda Fabia R5 +10:34.7
8th Jari-Matti Latvala Toyota Yaris WRC +15:47.1
9th Gus Greensmith Ford Fiesta R5 +17:19.3
10th Peter Heller Ford Fiesta R5 +24:28.1