Sébastien Ogier wins the Tour de Corse, but is not champion


Sébastien Ogier and Julien Ingrassia have added the victory in
the Tour de Corse
. At home and before his public, the French couple has signed a
action in which no other crew has been able to make shadow
to seal his fourth win of the season. In spite of this new success,
Ogier and Ingrassia will have to wait for the Rally RACC Catalunya to exit
champions of the WRC for the fourth time, while Andreas Mikkelsen got
finishing third behind Thierry Neuville.
Dani Sordo finishes seventh in
Corsica after suffering a puncture on the first day

The Tour de Corse was that defined your last
day of competition and with two only two flights ahead,
Sébastien Ogier
he devoted himself to temper their tempers and manage your great advantage
. With that
circumstance swarming in the atmosphere and leaving their label after the accident
on the day of Saturday,
Kris Meeke got a stratospheric scratch in the
, to lead more than 35 seconds to any of its rivals in the 53,78
‘Antisanti – Poggio di Nazza’, longest special of the Tour
Corse and penultimate stage of the race.

The scandalous rhythm of Kris Meeke with Citroen DS3 WRC
-without anything in – game anticipated the resolution of the Power Stage. With a time
of 6:09.0 and overtaking in only five tenths to Andreas Mikkelsen,
I got the scratch in the Power Stage
, rescuing at least the three points
extra of a rally of contrasts to the british pilot, with big lights and
some shadows.
Andreas Mikkelsen ensured two extra points,
while Sébastien Ogier finished third, adding a point to the 25
achieved by your dominating victory.


With this victory, Sebastien Ogier leaves seen to judgement
the title of the WRC
and unless disaster stand as a champion for the fourth time in the
Rally RACC Catalunya. In this test
Thierry Neuville will defend your condition
of the best driver of Hyundai
after the second place garnered in the Tour de Corse
in a performance very solid belgian. For its part,
Andreas Mikkelsen already
has avoided the title of Ogier with his podium
in Corsica will be almost impossible
to be able to return to repeat their feat in Salou, despite their benefits every time
more noticeable on asphalt.

Despite getting a fourth place, Jari-Matti Latvala leaves
as a pilot
‘defeated’ Tour de Corse
, all time which has remained to the
doors of the podium after being overcome with clarity by his teammate Andreas
Mikkelsen. In addition, behind the Finnish have located two of the surprises
positive of the rally,
since Craig Breen has signed a creditable fifth
and Hayden Paddon has been sixth. In the case of the new zealander and with his little
experience with the Hyundai i20 WRC on asphalt, this result should give
wings ahead of next season.

For his part, Dani Sordo has added a seventh position in
. The pilot cantabrian has been shown to have the pace to fight for the
podium, but a puncture at the first change has left him out of all
fight. In spite of this,
Deaf has been close to being able to give chase to Paddon and has
surpassed Eric Camilli
, a pilot who has completed the entire rally without any type
incidence mechanics. For its part,
the area of points have completed Mads
Ostberg and Ott Tanak
, two pilots who have had a pace very discreet with the
Ford Fiesta RS WRC in Corsica.


With a script similar to that which has followed Ogier to win the
Tour de Corse, Elfyn Evans has won the category WRC2. The pilot welsh
has managed to perfection the advantage of half a minute that has had on Jan
Kopecký almost from the beginning of the test, and has added an important
victory, in theory, is your last test in the category. However, this
the result strengthens his lead
and it is very likely that, come the moment I can
defend this position in another test. Jan Kopecký and Yoann Bonato have
completed the podium

For his part, Laurent Pellier has scored the victory in
the Junior WRC
and also in WRC3. The French rider has lived a
authentic battle against his compatriot Yohan Rossel throughout the rally,
but problems in the brakes of the Citroen DS3 R3T of the latter have opted
the balance in favour of Pellier. Martin Koci for its part, has closed the podium
in the JWRC, leaving behind Simone Tempestini. However, the fourth
added by Tempestini is enough to be proclaimed champion of the category

final Classification of the 59th Tour de Corse

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 Sébastien Ogier Volkswagen Polo R WRC 4:07:17.0
2nd Thierry Neuville Hyundai i20 WRC +46.4
3rd Andreas Mikkelsen Volkswagen Polo R WRC +1:10.0
4th Jari-Matti Latvala Volkswagen Polo R WRC +1:35.6
5th Craig Breen Citroën DS3 WRC +2:18.6
6th Hayden Paddon Hyundai i20 WRC +2:36.1
7th Dani Sordo Hyundai i20 WRC +3:06.9
8th Eric Camilli Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4:53.9
9th Mads Ostberg Ford Fiesta RS WRC +5:37.7
10th Ott Tanak Ford Fiesta RS WRC +6:26.6