Seventh pole of the season for Pechito López


Drawing of the new, dirt track by the sand and difficult to find references in a path with loopholes very spacious. Just the same, nothing can stop the double champion of the fia WTCC, which has the intention of saying goodbye to the 2015 big. ‘Pechito’ López has earned the pole position at Losail after a great lap in Q3 in which he stopped the clock in 2:00.947. The argentine sum so his seventh pole position of the season. Good ranking for Mehdi Bennani (2nd) and Sebastien Loeb (3rd), who are approaching their respective targets after the discreet performance of Nobert Michelisz and Yvan Muller.

The Q1 was a true reflection of what is seen in free. The Chevrolet RML began very strong with John Filippi, Stefano D Aste and Hugo Valente to the front. However, at the time decisive Citroën was lacking to his appointment with the top positions. ‘Pechito’ Lopez, he got the best time of the session, followed by Mehdi Bennani and Ma Qing Hua. Behind, Sébastien Loeb was playing with fire when you enter the pit lane, and was very close to elimination. could Not get his passage to Q2 three Chevrolet, Gabriele Tarquini, Rob Huff and Nasser Al-Attiyah, which was last.

In Q2 if there were more room for the surprise. Not in the first position, where ‘Pechito’ Lopez continued his triumphal march, but in the rest of positions. In a final round master, Nicky Catsburg managed to take your Lada to the Q3, being the only rider of the mark in achieving this. Also among the five first-placed Hugo Valente with the Cruze TC1, and the two Citroën C-Elysée Loeb and Bennani. With these five riders playing the pole, the big surprise was the elimination of Yvan Muller, who finished eighth. The French reported problems to point.


Q3 was as definitive as expected. José Maria ‘Pechito’ Lopez got the pole with a time of 2:00.947, being the only rider who went down to that tenth, although it is recognised that his most immediate pursuer has also frozen a almost perfect lap. Mehdi Bennani was second and the best pilot Independent. The moroccan is playing the title of the Trophy in Yokohama, and this position can be almost definitive in comparison with the sixth place of Norbert Michelisz. Sébastien Loeb could only finish third, just ahead of Hugo Valente, with the Chevrolet and Nicky Catsburg with the Lada.

With these results, ‘Pechito’ sum of the pole and the last 5 points in a game in classification. Without the actions, apparently, debatable, and without penalties accumulated, the argentine will leave at the first position in the first race in Losail, being the pilot in charge of leading the grill on the first night race in the history of the WTCC. He will share the front row with Mehdi Bennani. In the face the last race of the year with an inverted grid. John Filippi will start first in the second race, which tried to squeeze Tiago Monteiro and that however earned him starting eleventh in both races.

Classification of the Q3 of the fia WTCC 2015 at Losail

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Difference
1 José Maria ‘Pechito’ López Citroën C-Elysée WTCC 2:00.947
2nd Mehdi Bennani Citroën C-Elysée WTCC +0.364
3rd Sebastien Loeb Citroën C-Elysée WTCC +0.578
4th Hugo Valente Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 +0.595
5th Nicky Catsburg Lada Vesta WTCC +0.886