Stéphane Peterhansel also won the Dakar 2016 for the FIA


not one, not two. Up to three times has won Stéphane Peterhansel, the Dakar 2016 in the category of cars. After getting the triumph at the end of the test, the French rider and Peugeot Sport saw it as X-Raid presented an appeal for an alleged re-fuelling illegal made during the dispute of the eighth stage in an area that could only refuel in theory bikes and quads. With this claim of his former team, the victory of Stéphane Peterhansel was as provisional result, although Peugeot did not take long in getting revenue to the success of Mr. Dakar and the competitive Peugeot 2008 DKR16.

despite the arguments and documentation of X-Raid and Peugeot Sport as the parties involved in this claim, it was not until the month of march for the FFSA reafirmase the victory of Stéphane Peterhansel. In this aspect, the French Federation of motor Racing endorsed the victory based on the direct interpretation of the standard that indicates that a vehicle may not refuel on a road link, part of the regulation that in any case specifies that you can refuel in one part neutralized of a stage, even if in this area it is planned to a ‘refueling’ for bikes and quads.

With the victory of Stéphane Peterhansel confirmed by the ACO and the FFSA, the last stay that the appeal of X-Raid could progress was the own International Federation of motor Racing (FIA). However, the governing body of motor sport has appealed to the same argument to confirm that Stéphane Peterhansel is the winner of the Dakar 2016 in cars. An announcement by the FIA that ditch this appeal and that of step allows Peugeot to end with the asterisk that accompanied the announcement of the Peugeot 2008 to be a provisional result. Now, since we can think of the Dakar 2017.