The eight Audi drivers in the DTM 2016 already have a team


Audi lived for a 2015 peculiar in the Championship German Touring car. Despite being on track the best car, the mark did not reach the drivers title, teams or builders. With a system of ballasts penalized in excess of the superior performance of the Audi RS 5 DTM during the first half of the season, could do little their pilots to change the end result. For this reason, and because their ‘boys’ had a good role, the manufacturer from Ingolstadt has decided to bet on the same eight pilots of face-to-2016. Among them will be Miguel Molina for the seventh year.

After announcing the renewal of its eight drivers to the end of the last month of November, now Audi Sport has confirmed the distribution of riders among its teams. In this aspect, the brand has also opted for continuity, and unlike BMW, where there were more movements, in the case of Audi, there is only one change. Nico Müller and Adrien Tambay have exchanged their position, in such a way that Müller will compete with the team Audi Sport Team Abt, while Adrien Tambay landed in the Team Rosberg. This movement has the goal of promoting the motivation of both drivers.

With this single change , the other riders repeating team in 2016 in relation to the last season in the DTM. That means that Miguel Molina will be competing in the team Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline, forming a pair with the veteran driver swede Mattias Ekström. It will be the third campaign in this training for the pilot of Lloret de mar, all time during the last campaign, joined one of his years, most notable in the category after adding a podium at Lausitzring and to get his first victory in the DTM in the second race held at the Nürburgring.

Audi Sport Pilot 1 Pilot 2
Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline #5 – Mattias Ekström #17 – Miguel Molina
Audi Sport Team Phoenix #10 – Timo Scheider #99 – Mike Rockenfeller
Audi Sport Team Rosberg #27 – Adrien Tambay #53 – Jamie Green
Audi Sport Team Abt #48 – Edoardo Mortara #51 – Nico Müller