The FIA just with the GP2. Say hello to the new Formula 2!


The GP2 Series has gone on to a better life. The World Council of the Motor held on the occasion of the Geneva motor show has made official the farewell to the category that has been ‘trampoline’ to the Formula 1 since its creation in 2005. The agreement reached between the FIA and the Formula One Group allows the transition of the tournament renamed the FIA Formula 2 Championship. As it was foreseen in the original calendar of the GP2, the new F2 will go hand-in-hand of the Formula 1 in all of the appointments in your calendar, except in a.

The FIA Formula 2 Championship will provide the same opportunities for young riders to demonstrate their skills in the framework of the Formula 1, creating under the umbrella of the FIA the perfect staircase to the Formula 1 with the categories of karting, Formula 4 and Formula 3. In this aspect, Jean Todt as President of the FIA, was very satisfied: “Give life to the Formula 2 is a very important step. In recent years we have developed a successful program of championships FIA F4 in 12 countries and a european championship for F3 very strong. F2 further strengthens our proposal“.

For his part, Bruno Michel, CEO of the new FIA Formula 2 Championship, stated: “After twelve amazing seasons of GP2 with an amazing show for the fans and that have led to 28 riders at a seat in F1, we decided together with the FIA to the championship, to be known as FIA Formula 2 Championship. The concept will continue to maintain a car patent, safe and challenging, racing exciting field, and a perfect training for among Formula 1 with a clear focus on controlling expenses. This is a great opportunity for our drivers, teams and partners”.

Calendar of 2017 the FIA Formula 2 Championship

Date Circuit Country
14-16 April 2017 Sahkir Bahrain
12-14 may 2017 Barcelona-Catalunya Spain
25-27 may 2017 Monte carlo Monaco
23-25 June 2017 Baku Azerbaijan
07-09 of July 2017 Red Bull Ring Austria
14-16 of July 2017 Silverstone Great Britain
28-30 of July 2017 Hungaroring Hungary
25-27 August 2017 Spa-Francorchamps Belgium
01-03 September 2017 Monza Italy
06-08 October 2017 Sherry Spain
24-26 November 2017 Yas Marina Abu Dhabi