The Low Aragon of the big stars


With a cast of riders own the Dakar, the Low Aragon 2016 will be drawn as one of the issues most closely contested of the story in all its categories. There is more to take a look at the list of entries to understand that the fifth round of the Championship of the FIA World Rally Cross-Country and second in the calendar of Low gather the strongest rider on the international scene off-road. The road to the Dakar 2017 begins for many of them, while others use the test of teruel to make a debut in their new projects. Points of interest and juicy ingredients missing.

The car category has become the big claim of the Low Aragon. The winners of the Dakar Jutta Kleinschmidt, Nasser Al-Attiyah, Nani Roma and Carlos Sainz come together in a test with goals very different to all of them. Nasser Al-Attiyah will go to his Toyota Hilux V8 in order not to lose the competitive pace in a year in which the preparation for the Olympic Games is a priority. Carlos Sainz will continue working with Peugeot, while Jutta Kleinschmidt has the mission of collecting data with the Zebra Buggy. Finally, Nani Roma will make his debut with the Hilux V8 after signing for Toyota.

To these names we must add the other drivers of world-class as ‘Orly Terranova’ and Mikko Hirvonen, pilots franchise of X-Raid. And on the payroll of Spanish riders there are also great piltoos as Xavi Pons with your Ford Ranger, competing in the team DAYS South Racing, which will be in competition with a Toyota Hilux for Fernando Álvarez. And to close this list of 24-karat gold does not leave aside the ‘Mitsubishi Boys’ as Isidre Esteve competes with a Proto-ARC Facilities, and Reuben Grace will go up to the L-200 official project of Mitsubishi Spain.


The motorcycle category is not far behind and in the Low Aragón compete
main drivers of the Dakar. The Himoinsa Racing Team makes perfect
host with the presence of Gerard Farrés and Dani Oliveras, Antonio
Gimeno and Rosa Romero
. The quartet Spanish will have to face without
however, the official drivers of HRC and Sherco. With the mounts
the japanese firm will compete Joan Barreda and Michael Metge, while
with the mounts French will try to find the victory Joan
-winner of the Baja Italy – and Aravind Prabhakar. To these names
in addition they add dozens of local pilots.

All of these pilots, enrolled in quads
and the eight trucks that will compete in the Baja Aragón-including
are the Tatra mountains Martin Kolomy and Martin Prokop– will face a
test divided into three days of competition. While Friday only
you will play the prologue which determines the starting order Saturday, during
this day the riders will face two stages of more than 180
kilometers every one. The test will close on Sunday with the repetition of one
of the portions of the Saturday, which means that the riders will compete in 560,93
kilometres against the clock

Schedules and routes of the Low Aragon 2016

Friday, 22 July 2016

Time Stretch Name Mileage
18:30h Output from Teruel (link) 12,75 km
18:55h SS1 Prologue 9,50 km

Saturday, July 23, 2016

Time Stretch Name Mileage
08:00h Output from Teruel (link) 18,74 km
08:48h SS2 Second special 181,83 km
13:14h Start Closed Park Assistance
13:44h Output from Teruel (link) 28,97 km
14:44h SS3 Third special 184,80 km

Sunday, July 24, 2016

Time Stretch Name Mileage
09:00h Output from Teruel (link) 28,97 km
09:59 SS4 Fourth special 184,80 km