The numbers for the season-2015 WTCC


The season-2015 WTCC left a grand name to posterity, José María ‘Pechito’ López. The pilot argentine added his second title of the World’s passenger Cars in a row at the wheel of the Citroën C-Elysée and led the battalion of Citroën Racing. Yvan Muller, Sébastien Loeb and Ma Qing Hua have allowed the French to monopolize the top four positions in the championship, winning as is logical, the title of builders. Up to this point has reached the domain of Citroën only Michelisz and Monteiro have managed to win a race with a vehicle ‘non-Model’. Both did so with the Honda Civic.

In this way, and despite having four different manufacturers, only two brands and six drivers have managed to win a race in the WTCC 2015. Something more spread have been the podium positions. Up to 12 riders were on the podium over the last season, which represents a 44.4 per cent of the pilots of the championship, as 27 drivers have taken part in at least one run the World Touring car along 2015. All of these pilots represent a total of 16 nationalities. The country with the highest number of representatives has been France (6).


José María ‘Pechito’ López has dominated statistics.
The argentine has achieved the highest number of victories (10) and the largest
number of fastest race laps (10). In addition, ‘Pechito’ is also
the rider with most poles of the season (7). Absolute control of the
category that is more palpable if we take into account that only 4
different drivers have achieved pole position
, 7 have been added to the
least one fastest lap, and only 9 pilots have managed to lead a
back in the race. 475 points for ‘Pechito’ López
represent a record

by way of curiosity, the youngest pilot
in taking part in the WTCC in 2015 has been John Filippi
(20 years and 9
months), while the more veteran as could not be otherwise
been Gabriele Tarquini (53 years, 8 months and 25 days). The race
long of the championship was the first race in China with more than 33 minutes
duration and the shorter second race in Thailand, shortened by
a lack of visibility. the Nürburgring has been the path more long and with more
, while Paul Ricard is the circuit shorter and with less