The Rally Islas Canarias return to the ERC in 2016


Reward for all the work. The Rally Canary Islands returns to the European Rally (ERC) after two years of absence. The test will take place between the 11th and 13th march 2016 in Gran Canaria and will be the first event on asphalt in the year, second championship as the category kicks off with the Rally Liepaja. In addition, the return to competition continental matches the celebration of the 40th edition of the test, which is a fair prize to Luis Monzón and all the organizing team of the test, as well as for the hot fans of the canaries.

The relationship of the Rally Islas Canarias with the ERC has had some ups and downs. The trial started in 1977 and during their first years of life was only scoring for the disciplines regional, or the Championship of Spain. His first appearance in the ERC was in 1983 and remained in the calendar of the European uninterruptedly until 2005, achieving victories in their flights pilots as Carlos Sainz (5) or Jesus Puras (3). During the following four years he returned to the National, while that from 2010 to 2012 he was part of the IRC. 2013 was his last year in the renamed and re-established CKD.

Eurosport Events has decided to recover the Rally Islas Canarias, something that in part has been possible by the landing of the Tour de Corse in the WRC. Be one of the five asphalt rounds of the season in a calendar quite compact and also has a rally again in Poland. The calendar has to be approved by the World Council of the Motor of the FIA, but the presence of the Canary islands is safe. in Addition, the event will serve as a first test of the National Asphalt (WAX) and with the new rules R5 FIA, the national drivers will be able to be measured to the pilots of the European equality.

Calendar of the European Rally (ERC) 2016

Date Rally Country Surface
05 – 07 February 2016 Rally Liepaja Latvia Gravel – Snow
11 – 13 march 2016 Rally Islas Canarias Spain Asphalt
07 – 09 April 2016 Circuit of Ireland Rally Northern Ireland Asphalt
06 – 08 may 2016 Acropolis Rally** Greece Gravel
02 – 04 June 2016 Rally Azores Portugal Gravel
23 – 25 June 2016 Ypres Rally Belgium Asphalt
15 – 17 July 2016 Rally Estonia* Estonia Gravel
05 – 07 August 2016 Rajd Rzeszowski Poland Asphalt
26 – 28 August 2016 Barum Czech Rally Zlín Czech Republic Asphalt
24 – 25 September 2016 Cyprus Rally Cyprus Gravel – Asphalt

* Subject to the signing of an agreement with Eurosport Events

** Subject to the signing of an agreement with Eurosport Events, and approval of the local Federation.