The salaries of pilots of Formula 1, in detail


As it comes being usual in all the pre-season, the German publication Motorsport-Total has published the results of his research on the salary that the teams of Formula 1 credited to their riders throughout this season. These figures obviously do not include other income of the riders arising from your professional activity, such as extra objectives or agreements, advertising of each pilot.

to The front of the list emerge the three main protagonists of the fight for the Formula 1 World championship during the last decade, and the only ones whose emoluments monthly exceed one million euros. Two of them “tie” in first position: the three-time british Lewis Hamilton and the champion Spanish Fernando Alonso perceive an approximate amount of 18.7 million euros. In the third place, the four-time champion Sebastian Vettel, whose salary is 14.1 million euros.

In a second step, with an important advantage above the rest, stood the two pilots are better paid that are not yet champions. After the pilot star of Red Bull, Daniel Ricciardo, that senses an amount of 11.3 million euros, is located Nico Hülkenberg. The winner of the 24 hours of Le Mans in 2015 you will receive € 9.4 million for its work as a brand new signing for Renault.

The other riders are placed in two steps wage marked: in the first (between 4.7 and 6.6 million euros) are some of the men who are called to be key figures this season, as Max Verstappen, Valtteri Bottas or Kimi Räikkönen. In the second, below the three million euros, include, among others, the new partner for Fernando Alonso at McLaren, Stoffel Vandoorne, as well as Carlos Sainz, the pilot is the best paid in the Toro Rosso with 1.4 million euros per year. Five pilots will receive less than a million euros, being Pascal Wehrlein they shall enjoy the salary more ‘modest’, 470.000 euros.

Salary (in euros)
Fernando Alonso McLaren 18.700.000
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 18.700.000
Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 14.100.000
Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 11.300.000
Nico Hülkenberg Renault 9.400.000
Max Verstappen Red Bull 6.600.000
Romain Grosjean Haas 6.600.000
Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 5.600.000
Kimi Räikkonen Ferrari 5.600.000
Sergio Pérez Force India 4.700.000
Felipe Massa Williams 4.700.000
Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 2.800.000
Esteban Ocon Force India 1.900.000
Kevin Magnussen Haas 1.400.000
Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso 1.400.000
Jolyon Palmer Renault 940.000
Lance Stroll Williams 940.000
Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso 940.000
Marcus Ericsson Sauber 940.000
Pascal Wehrlein Sauber 470.000