Third victory and leadership for Josef Newgarden


Josef Newgarden is, from a few years ago, the pilot with the most potential to become the “poster-boy” IndyCar, and his move to Penske has allowed his pursuit of championship, when they arrived at aspire in the last two seasons, have the best warranties. Despite a series of mishaps and errors in the ovals, the american pilot, has exhibited all his strength in the circuits, where he had earned his two victories of the season, and this Sunday he added one more notch to his season with victory in the 200 miles of Mid-Ohio, twelfth test of the season.

Newgarden started on the front row after a Will Power who retained his first position at the start of the test, but was unable to leave his partner and tracker. On lap 13, the u.s. signed one of the best overtaking manoeuvres of the year: preparing your approach to turn 4 on the outside of the track, was launched inside at the last moment, becoming with the gap Power he had left. Since that time, Newgarden took off, reaching up to six seconds of advantage in his second stint. Behind, Takuma Sato remained in position in front of Graham Rahal, but the american pilot was surprised by the japanese on lap 15 to pass into the fork Keyhole. Sato would fall out of the fight for the podium in a bad first stop that dropped him back to eighth place.

Rahal ran one more lap to his pit stop and came out just ahead of Power, but the australian returned to the game in turn 4. After Rahal pulled Simon Pagenaud, which was sixth prior to his arrest to pass in the output to Scott Dixon, and Alexander Rossi, which won three positions, one of them touching the outside of the curve 4 with a Ryan Hunter-Reay that ended trompeando. Both Dixon as Rossi overtook at that stop to Hélio Castroneves, and would remain stuck in seventh position after an unrecognizable Dixon, whose pace will cost him and his pursuers a disadvantage of 20 seconds with the car in front, and that forced him to stop on lap 32, seven ahead of normal.

Rossi broke to Pagenaud to make his second stop three laps before the French, but this recovered position on lap 55. Eleven laps later, just at the end of the third turn of stops that cost him his position to Rossi, with Castroneves, the emiratí Ed Jones lost control of his car on the demanding Thunder Valley. The resulting caution it was very inconvenient for Newgarden, who had decided to finish the race with tires hard while their pursuers were riding on soft tyres. Fortunately for the u.s., Esteban Gutierrez, very delayed from the beginning and already folded, would a strategy to four stops, and the mexican was situated between Newgarden and Power.

To make matters worse, Gutiérrez not only did not depart from (the norm of the blue flags do not exist in IndyCar), if not that prevented that Power will exceeds in the resalida, and remained other for five laps in front to stop in the pit lane. When he did, Newgarden already had a margin of three seconds that, far from being reduced, was expanded to six in the 15 laps remaining to take the sixth victory of his career, the second in a row and their fourth top 2 in a row in circuit. Power was employed with decision to repel two offensive attack on the part of Rahal and finish second, by adding up both their fifth and fourth podium of the season, respectively.


With your fourth, Pagenaud managed another good top 5, the tenth of the season, more than anyone else this season, what keeps the ointment for the championship. Sato, for his part, took advantage of the reunion to the fullest: in the resalida, went to James Hinchcliffe, and a lap later overtook Rossi in the keyhole and Castroneves in the straight back, finishing with it in fifth place. The brazilian was also exceeded on that same action by Rossi in the braking of turn 4, giving a few vital points for the championship. Hinchcliffe lost a lot of pace in his last stint with the hard tyre and, after being passed by Sato, fell from eighth to eleventh place, being passed by Hunter-Reay, Dixon, and a good Conor Daly, who scored his second top 10 of the year and the first circuit.

Second, sixth, first and first. This streak has allowed Newgarden, seventh in the general following its abandonment in Texas and fifth after the appointment of Iowa, mount the leadership of the category for the first time in his career with 453 points. At just 17 points, stood his three persecutors: Castroneves (-7), Dixon (-8) and Pagenaud, Power, and Rahal to something more than 50 points. The new star of Penske released its condition of leader in the harsh 500 miles of Pocono the next August 20.

Results of the 200 miles of Mid-Ohio 2017 (90 laps)

Pos Pilot Engine Time / Difference
1 Josef Newgarden Penske Chevrolet 1:46.19.598
Will Power Penske Chevrolet +5.155
Graham Rahal Rahal Honda +6.312
Simon Pagenaud Penske Chevrolet +6.880
Takuma Sato Andretti Honda +7.309
Alexander Rossi Andretti Honda +9.026
Hélio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet +11.680
Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Honda +12.326
Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda +18.185
10th Conor Daly Foyt Chevrolet +20.566
11th James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Honda +27.324
12 Marco Andretti Andretti Honda +29.992
13th Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda +31.124
14th Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Honda +32.595
15 Max Chilton Ganassi Honda +33.109
16th Tony Kanaan Ganassi Honda +36.199
17º J. R. Hildebrand Carpenter Chevrolet +1:00.824
18 Carlos Muñoz Foyt Chevrolet +1v
19º Spencer Pigot Carpenter Chevrolet +1v
20th Esteban Gutierrez Coyne Honda +1v
21 Ed Jones Coyne Honda +2v

Classification of the IndyCar 2017 at Mid-Ohio

Pos Pilot Motor Puntos
Josef Newgarden Penske Chevrolet 453
2nd Hélio Castroneves Penske Chevrolet 446
3rd Scott Dixon Ganassi Honda 445
4th Simon Pagenaud Penske Chevrolet 436
Will Power Penske Chevrolet 401
Graham Rahal Rahal Honda 395
7th Takuma Sato Andretti Honda 381
Alexander Rossi Andretti Honda 358
Tony Kanaan Ganassi Honda 320
10th James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Honda 316
11th Max Chilton Ganassi Honda 310
12 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Honda 297
13º Marco Andretti Andretti Honda 286
14th Ed Jones Coyne Honda 285
15 J. R. Hildebrand Carpenter Chevrolet 276
16º Mikhail Aleshin Schmidt Honda 237
17º Carlos Muñoz Foyt Chevrolet 236
18 Charlie Kimball Ganassi Honda 223
19º Conor Daly Foyt Chevrolet 199
20th Spencer Pigot Carpenter Chevrolet 165*
25th Esteban Gutierrez Coyne Honda 83*

* Program partial (Pigot) / Substitute (Gutiérrez)