Tony Kanaan is in addition to the navy pilots of the Ford GT


Ford Performance has announced their riders for the 24 Hours of Daytona with the only novelty of the presence of Tony Kanaan at the controls of one of the Ford GT. The brazilian, usual Chip Ganassi in Daytona, it leaves the category of prototypes -in which he won the test in 2015 – to pilot one of the GT Ford, fact that could well open the doors of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, any time the mark to repeat the alignment and distribution of riders among the four Ford GT competing in Daytona with regard to their past presence in Le Mans.

At the age of 41, Tony Kanaan has a remarkable experience in single-seaters and prototypes, although its participations in Daytona at the wheel of a GT car is reduced to their presence in 2013 with a Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, edition that added a discrete outcome on a computer 100% brazilian who was also Rubens Barrichello. All in all, the ties that keeps the brazilian driver with Chip Ganassi and the victory, and added in 2015 at the controls of one of the prototypes of the equipment are more than enough to validate the incorporation of Kanaan in place of Marino Franchitti.

In this way, in the Ford GT #66 will compete with Joey Hand, Dirk Muller and Sébastien Bourdais, trio is the reigning champion of the category GTE Pro at the 24 Hours of Le Mans. For his part, in the Ford GT #67 will be Ryan Briscoe, Richard Westbrook and Scott Dixon, while the Ford GT #68 in the next 24-Hours of Daytona will be to Oliver Pla, Stefan Mücke and Billy Johnson. Completing the bet Ford’s Performance of face-to-Daytona, the Ford GT #69 will be uploaded to the british riders Harry Tincknell and Andy Priaulx, along with the above-mentioned Tony Kanaan.