Victory for Ekström, failure of Mortara and podium Juncadella


Few victories have a taste so bittersweet. Mattias
Ekström has won the victory in the second race of the DTM at the Hungaroring
however, the joy in the Audi has not been full. An error in the output of Edo
Mortara after getting the pole threw overboard all the work of the end of
week and let Marco Wittmann in commanding position to get the title
from the DTM. On the sidelines of these events,
podium for Adrien Tambay and Dani
. The Catalan driver took advantage of to the perfection the chaos of the output
to get
his first podium in the DTM*.

despite having the pole position, Edo Mortara signed an output disastrous also played Marco Wittmann and Jamie Green, the other two candidates for the title in the DTM. This circumstance was Mattias Ekström as the leader of the race, followed by Adrien Tambay and Dani Juncadella, who managed to fish in troubled water. Marco Wittmann for his part, was in fourth position, still in the end the only candidate to the title who survived the first round since Edo Mortara had to go through boxes and Jamie Green was out of the race after its touch.

Within the start and the first lap, Augusto Farfus, Nico Müller and Miguel Molina were also pilots affected by various touches or problems. In the case of the Spanish pilot lost any option to podium finish after having to go out to the exit of the first curve and being overtaken by the whole group. With Molina out of the equation, Ekström and Tambay were the responsibility of defending the first two positions any time that behind them stood Juncadella and six of the eight riders of BMW. Mike Rockenfeller for its part, was placed tenth.


all in all, the race was broke completely due to the difference of pace between the BMW M4 DTM and the Audi RS 5 DTM, which allowed to Ekström and Tambay to form a comfortable lead over seven seconds ahead of Juncadella, which in turn gained another five seconds of margin in relation to the group of riders of BMW at the time the first pit stops occurred. All in all, the required step for the pitlane to change tyres left no large changes among the top finishers despite the strategic diversity.

Dani Juncadella went back after Marco Wittmann to cover your position, which was to get ahead of António Félix Da Costa and Witmann, who lost his provisional fourth place in favor of your partner. Mercedes, however, leaving the other riders on the track, slowed to the Spanish. Despite this, after the various stops, the race turned to be led by Ekström, followed by Tambay and Juncadella. The group of riders of BMW was going to have to Da Costa at the front and reduced their number to five units, with Tomcyzk losing position with Rockenfeller and Scheider.

As expected, António Félix Da Costa is allowed to pass by Marco Wittmann in the final stretch of the race, while Timo Scheider managed to overtake Maxime Martin for the eighth position. With these two maneuvers, the race was consumed and left a taste too sour on the Audi. Despite the victory of Mattias Ekström and second-placed Adrien Tambay, the failure of Edo Mortara makes it very complicated the assault on the drivers title. On the opposite side of the coin, Marco Wittmann with his fourth place recovers part of the points lost in the first race of the weekend.

Classification second career DTM 2016 at the Hungaroring

Position Pilot Vehicle Time / Distance
1 Mattias Ekström Audi RS 5 DTM 59:09.402
2nd Adrien Tambay Audi RS 5 DTM +4.350
3rd Dani Juncadella Mercedes AMG C 63 DTM +15.870
4th Marco Wittmann BMW M4 DTM +23.295
5th António Félix Da Costa BMW M4 DTM +24.209
6th Tom Blomqvist BMW M4 DTM +26.067
7th Timo Glock BMW M4 DTM +26.813
8th Timo Scheider Audi RS 5 DTM +31.792
9th Maxime Martin BMW M4 DTM +38.310
10th Mike Rockenfeller Audi RS 5 DTM +38.675

* Dani Juncadella and Marco Wittmann have been excluded by an irregularity technique.