What riders will be the stars of the WRC in 2017?


Every time are more the voices that give the fact that the FIA has
given the green light to the system of three cars by brand
, scoring only two
best drivers in each rally. The fact of not having to appoint two pilots
fixed rate linked to the possibility of having three World Rally Car
by mark opens no doubt the options in a ‘silly season’ that still has
many posts for define
. The margin of Volkswagen Motorsport, the rest of the
manufacturers that will be present in the season 2017 WRC have seats
without defining. What options do handled each manufacturer?

Citroën Racing

Citroën Racing began with the firm intention of aligning two
Citroen C3 WRC
, word Yves Matton. However, with the passage of the weeks
this speech has been dissipated to such an extent that could be the only brand
in the alignment four World Rally Car
in specific tests and three units of
a permanent way. To lack of to clarify your program -with the Paris Salon as
possible framework to do so- the only thing clear is that Kris Meeke is the only pilot
that has its C3 WRC insured
after signing a contract for several seasons with
the French brand.

Yves Matton has not hidden that Thierry Neuville is a pilot
at the time of forming a strong team in the return of Citroën
Racing as official team in the WRC. In addition, the brand has Stéphane
Lefebvre and Craig Breen
as two young pilots and a huge talent, the margin
a Khalid Al-Qassimi who pays ‘the party’ and is set to compete in tests
provided that the FIA’s green light. With this picture you could see a
alignment formed by two C3 WRC for Meeke and Neuville, a third unit
shared by Lefebvre and Breen and a fourth World Rally Car used by Al-Qassimi on rally loose.


Hyundai Motorsport

Hyundai Motorsport have two drivers signed. The
new zealand Hayden Paddon was the first of them to renew your contract,
while Dani Sordo extended its relationship with the formation of Korean makes some
weeks, a step that has allowed, among other things, completing his first
miles with the Hyundai i20 WRC 2017. All in all, the team led by Michel
Nandan has a job for a cover, any time that Thierry Neuville can
end up leaving the team
. Although there is still a possibility of seeing a
renewal of the belgian driver, everything indicates that his future is out of Hyundai.

The eventual departure of Thierry Neuville would give a great
possibility to Kevin Abbring
of being the third pilot of the mark the whole time that the
the belgian has made the work of the reserve driver and development, being the
great architect of the Hyundai i20 R5, a vehicle that aims to be a pillar
fundamental in the team’s budget in a model of ‘race-client’
already used by M-Sport as the maximum exponent. Be that as it may, Hyundai Motorsport
you can also resort to the transfer market
to compensate for the possible low
Neuville, although it is true that no pilot has sounded, to sign for


M-Sport / DMACK World Rally Team

M-Sport is the big unknown with respect to 2017. Without the support
official and direct from a manufacturer, the preparer british has enough
put in liza two Ford Fiesta RS WRC, so the options on the computer are
minors. Malcolm Wilson would be happy to be able to have a pilot ‘top’
as Thierry Neuville
, and another of a lower profile that might bring even a
pinch to the budget. Mads Ostberg and Eric Camilli are the pilots headlines
M-Sport today. Both can be assets for the future or leave the
team. With Malcolm Wilson anything can happen.

In the end, the drivers of M-Sport will determine in a great extent
the alignment of DMACK World Rally Team
, every time that the team created by the
british firm depends on the OK from the FIA to be able to compete with two Ford
Fiesta RS WRC new generation
. It is difficult to determine the deadlines for both
equipment, but DMACK has confirmed the interest of having Ott Tanak and Elfyn Evans, as long as none of the two runs out in the cars of the own
M-Sport. The choice of a few and others may also to come subject to the
‘leftover’ to stop the transfer market


Toyota Gazoo Racing

It is another great ‘doubt’. Toyota Gazoo Racing has lived
genuine ups and downs
until it has formed a project more or less serious in
around the team of Tommi Mäkinen. However, the presence of the former champion
WRC will determine in large measure the alignment of team riders, with a clear component Finnish. Although not yet confirmed 100%,
everything indicates that Juho Hänninen will be one of three pilots that is put to
the controls of the Toyota Yaris WRC 2017, although the three units of the World Rally
Car will not be ready for the first round of the championship.

With all the riders ‘top’ on a leash or in negotiations with
other teams, except in the case of Mads Ostberg, the roster of pilots of Toyota
Gazoo Racing will be completed with wise new
. After confirming that he will leave Skoda Motorsport at the end of the season, Esapekka Lappi is a clear candidate to
driving a Yaris WRC. For its part, the third unit of the World Rally Car
Finnish has many candidates as are Pontus Tidemand, Kevin Abbring or Ott
Tanak. In spite of this take the lead Jarko Nikkara and Teemu Suninen since
both have already been able to test the Toyota Yaris WRC.


Volkswagen Motorsport

Volkswagen Motorsport has all the work done. With the
current generation of the Volkswagen Polo R WRC by closing a stage glorious to the
brand name with full titles of pilots, co-pilots and possibly
builders, the brand will have the same three riders that already
compete currently and more if you don’t have to choose what score
for the brand. In this way, Sébastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala and Andreas
Mikkelsen will drive the three Volkswagen Polo R WRC 2017
, although see how
this implies losing a diamond in the rough of the Volkswagen Group as it is Esapekka

Summary of the ‘silly season’ of drivers face in the WRC 2017

Manufacturer Drivers confirmed Drivers likely Pilots of interest
Citroën Racing Kris Meeke Stéphane Lefebvre
Craig Breen
Khalid Al-Qassimi
Thierry Neuville
Hyundai Motorsport Dani Sordo
Hayden Paddon
Kevin Abbring Thierry Neuville
M-Sport Eric Camilli Mads Ostberg
Thierry Neuville
Ott Tanak
Elfyn Evans
DMACK World Rally Team Ott Tanak
Elfyn Evans
Toyota Gazoo Racing Juho Hänninen Esapekka Lappi Teemu Suninen
Jarko Nikkara
Pontus Tidemand
Kevin Abbring
Ott Tanak
Volkswagen Motorsport Sébastien Ogier
Jari-Matti Latvala
Andreas Mikkelsen